Healthy Pork Fried Rice

Ahhhhh! My favorite time of day. It’s after dinner, I’m lounging on the sofa, with my laptop on a pillow on my lap and a little bowl of chocolate chips next to me. I like to savor them one at a time, letting each one melt in my mouth.

Today was very much like yesterday. Woke up, fed the kitties, made some coffee, ate breakfast while checking facebook and e-mails, cleaned up the night before mess and headed to the gym. Breakfast was a typical oatmeal with peanut butter and banana. Then to the gym for some weights and running.

Lunch was amazing, thanks to my Monday afternoon giant batch of brown rice and poached chicken preparation.

I put some rice and chicken in a bowl, topped it with a couple spoonfuls of salsa and microwaved. I topped it with a chopped tomato, half an avocado, and some hot sauce. Love it!

I worked for a while, met with another great bride to start designing her wedding. Then raced home starving from my revved up metabolism.

The brown rice did double duty today in my pork fried rice. Well, it’s not mine. I used the recipe from the Jan/Feb issue of Cooking Light. It includes: Carrots, celery, scallions, garlic, ginger, bean sprouts, egg, soy sauce, mirin, sesame oil, and of course the pork and rice.

I’m a fan, I will make it again. I’m already looking forward to leftovers for lunch tomorrow. Until then, good night!

2 thoughts on “Healthy Pork Fried Rice

Leave a Reply

