I love Indian food!

Good morning!  I decided to post yesterday’s meals today.  For breakfast I had “Blue oats”  I added frozen blueberries while it cooked and it turned a not so pretty shade of blue, but it was quite tasty.

Oatmeal made with half almond milk, half water, banana, blueberries, almond butter, flax seed, and a drizzle of pure maple syrup.

After breakfast I worked in the office for a couple hours doing fun stuff like Quickbooks and paying bills, did some laundry and cleaning, and threw dinner in the crock pot.  Then I headed out for a run.  Same distance as yesterday walk/run 3 miles.  When I got back home, I realized I was running behind, so I hopped in the shower and scarfed down a quick lunch:

These “burgers” are awesome, so much better than other brands I’ve tried.  And they don’t have soy, which is great because I read soy can interfere with the thyroid functions, and with a family history of thyroid disease I don’t want to risk it, so I try not to eat soy regularly.  I had my burger on a sandwich thin with pepperjack cheese, smart balance mayo, dijon mustard, ketchup, and lettuce.  And this to drink:

Kombucha is a Chinese fermented tea that boasts many health benefits.  Read about Kombucha here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kombucha

Then I was off to a Quickbooks training.  Where I snacked on this:

Grapes,melon,strawberry,pineapple,carrots,celery,broccoli,cheese, and olives.

When I got home, there was a neighborhood party going on in the field across the street.  They deep fried a turkey and we played corn hole, and had a bonfire.  I picked at the turkey and it was Awesome!  But I was really looking forward to my dinner which was waiting for me in the crock pot.  I tried a recipe from this book:

I made Spinach Dal with Millet:

Dal is an Indian dish which is usually made with split peas, but this recipe uses red lentils instead.  I’m not sure if I am allowed to post the recipe, but if you want it, I will e-mail it to you.  Basically it is lentils, millet,spinach, onions, tomatoes,ginger,garlic with lots of  Indian spices.  I put a dallop of greek yogurt on top, garnished with cilantro, and tons of hot sauce.  This meal was delicious, super healthful, and really filling.  I also had a glass of merlot, there may have been several glasses throughout the night.

I had a great time! I have the best neighbors!

Leave a Reply

