Homemade Pizza Crust: Take One

Is it still Tuesday?  It seems like I’ve lived 2 days in one.  Tuesday’s mornings I have a BNI meeting for our business, Compass Coatings.   We do decorative concrete resurfacing for pool decks, driveways, patios, walkways, anything made of concrete.  I will post some pictures of some of our projects soon.  This business is our primary source of income.  Jordan does the installation and I do the office work, money, and marketing.  The meeting starts at 7:30 sharp and they serve breakfast:

Bread, eggs, and grapes.

I was still really hungry when I got home around 10:30, so I had a little snack:

Boars Head chicken lunch meat slice wrapped up with a piece of pepperjack cheese.  This did the trick and kept me satisfied until lunch, which was leftovers:

This was even better the next day.  I heated up this chicken stuffed red pepper in the microwave with some marinara sauce and then sprinkled some parmesan cheese on top.  It seemed like a lot of food, but I was hungry again in the afternoon.  I snacked on this yummy popcorn:

This makes a surprisingly large amount of popcorn for only 100 calories.  It’s great for a day like today when I have the munchies.  I love the sweet and salty combo of the kettle corn. Yum!

Today was a big day for me.  I attempted homemade pizza dough for the first time ever.  My inspiration came from an amazing woman who is a living example of how God wants a woman to be.  Her name is Sheryl Leggett and I’ve known her since I was a tiny 13-year-old girl.  I have so many good memories.  She used to make these amazing pizzas with hot dogs.  So I call this Mrs. Leggett’s Hot Diggity Dog Pizza:

I made this one with 98% fat-free turkey hot dogs, reduced fat cheese, red peppers, onions, banana peppers, and basil.  I made, for the first time ever, homemade whole wheat pizza crust. 

I got the recipe from eatliverun.com, here’s the link: 

 http://eatliverun.com/breakfast-recipes/the-best-pizza-dough/

 It turned out really, really good, and I don’t bake much.  It’s a fool-proof recipe.  I really enjoyed kneading the dough. There is something meditative about it.  And there is a certain satisfaction in creating food from just flour,yeast, and water.

I also made one with tomato, mozzarella, and basil:

This was my plate:

I went back for another piece of Mrs. Leggett’s pie.  It definitely was not as good as hers, but it was tasty and brought back good memories.

And then for dessert, I couldn’t resist this:

I figured out what this tastes like:  the most delicious snickers in the world!  Layers of chocolate, caramel, and peanutty nougat.  Dessert is a necessity!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Pizza Crust: Take One

Leave a Reply

