What a Weekend!

I’m back. It’s Monday night and I’m just getting settled in at home after a fun-filled weekend.  It turned out to be a trip centered around food, my favorite!  There was lots of eating, and lots of shopping, for food mainly.  Saturday morning started out with a quick bowl of Grape Nuts before heading to work to set up for a wedding:

Looks like more almond milk than anything else.  There is cereal under there.  The wedding we did was purple and yellow:

It looks even prettier in real life.  The pictures make the tablecloths look blue.  For lunch, I packed a wrap using these yummy wraps:

Inside the wrap is poached chicken, red peppers, lettuce, and a little Smart Balance mayo. I poached the chicken  in low sodium chicken broth with a couple bay leaves and some onion powder.  I had some red peppers and carrots on the side.  After lunch, Jean and I hit the road to Orlando.  When we got to her sister’s, the party started! It was appetizers and wine to start:

Bruschetta. It was AWESOME!

Hummus, spicy olives, and a wonderful cheese that I forgot what kind. Darn it, it was good and I want to get some.  I was getting full already, but then there was dinner:

Pork samich, tater salad, baked beans, and sweet tater fries.  Normally I wouldn’t each such seemingly unhealthy fare.  However, Jean’s sister Dean is totally into organic, wholesome, natural foods, and she’s an extraordinary cook.  I think the ketchup was even organic.  This meal rocked.  I had several glasses of yummy Pinot Gris.  And then there was dessert:

Carrot cake.  It has to be healthy, it has a carrot on it, right? Haha, even if it wasn’t, it was totally worth it.  It’s funny, before I started eating healthy, I rarely ate dessert.  I think it was because I stuffed myself so sickly full, there no was no desire whatsoever for dessert.  Now my portions are under control, and there is room for a little treat every night.  The evening was filled with good conversation, laughs, and a nice soak in the hot tub. 

That was Saturday.  Just getting warmed up for the ultimate Sunday.  I felt like I stayed at a high-end bed and breakfast.  This was my breakfast:

This is a big beautiful bowl of yogurt with granola, bananas, and dried cranberry, taters, and a wonderful concoction of  pizza dough, onions, peppers, sausage, eggs, and cheese, all roll up and baked to perfection.  And we had mimosas with fresh squeezed OJ from the tree in yard.  I just does not get any better than that!!!

There’s only one thing to do to burn off a breakfast like that:  SHOP!  We headed out to the farmer’s market at Lily Lake, it was so cute and quaint with live music playing.  Then we stopped at Ulta, a store similar to Sephora for some beauty supplies.  Then we headed to the Orlando Prime Outlet Mall because I wanted to check out the Lululemon store.  I loved it, I got a pair of stir up pants and a sports bra for a fraction of the normal cost. Great find!  Then it was off to Whole Foods.  We were hungry by the time we got there, so we had a little snack at the cafe:

This is the vegetable curry.  It was really good. Spicy, but not too spicy.  And so we shopped, this is what I got:

-whole wheat flour

-several Indian inspired simmer sauces

-butter chicken dinner kit

-cheese they were sampling

I just had to take a picture of this georgeuos olive bar, isn’t it perty?

After Whole Foods we went to Super Target and then headed back to Dean’s to prepare for another delicious meal.  Of course there was wine and snackies while we waited for dinner:

Homemade guacamole , yum!  And for dinner:

This is called a haystack. Basically, it is a rice and bean salad with tomatoes, cilantro, scallions, jalapeno, and salsa. To Die For!

Steve’s homemade Cuban sandwich.  Wow!  This was Go – od.  And some more sweet tater fries, these are great!  No dessert for me, I was too full.  We watched the Oscars and had lovely evening together. 

This morning I woke up full and bloated.  Large portions of food and wine two days in a row will do that to you.  For breakfast, I kept it small with a potassium loaded naner.  Did you know potassium helps pull the sodium out of the body?  Just what I needed:

Then Jean and I packed up and headed back to our stomping grounds.  But first, we had to make a couple food stops.  We were hungry when we got back in town, and Olive Garden’s soup, salad, and bread sticks were calling our names:

I got the Pasta Fagoili, and we did good and split one breadstick.  It was the perfect amount.  I’m sure it was high up there in sodium, but everything else I think was pretty good.  Then it was to Costco to stock up on some supplies:

-protein bars

-organic quinoa

-organic canned tomatoes

-organic chicken broth

-agave nectar

-organic salsa

-organic frozen broccoli

-sweet tater fries

-chicken

-tilapia

-salt free seasoning

-organic salad dressing

-sandwich thins

-Bruchetta toasts for a party I’m planning.

After that, we hit Super Target for yes, more groceries:

-hot sauce

-buffalo sauce

-cereal

-creamer

-extra lean ground turkey

-low sodium turkey lunch meat

-whole wheat lasagne noodles

-and lots of sausage.  Yes I said it, sausage.  Target has a fantastic brand of chicken sausage that is low-calorie, low-fat, all natural, and not so bad on the sodium.  My husband was ecstatic when I brought these home.  We have not had sausage in sooo long, and it’s his favorite food.  So of course I had to try some for dinner.  But first, since I was in serious need of some exercise, I went on a 3 mile run/walk.  I felt soooo good!

Whole wheat pasta with chicken Italian sausage and sauce, with a sprinkle of parmesan and basil.  I also had a square of dark chocolate for dessert.  What a wonderful weekend of friends, food, wine, and good times!

Leave a Reply

