Not my day.

I should have stayed in bed today.  I hate to be a Debbie Downer, but today was one of those rare bad ones.  I started off missing my morning meeting.  No alarm means no meeting.  I finally did wake up and had some oatmeal:

With naner, cinnamon, flax seeds, and agave syrup.  I know I said I was going to the beach today, but it didn’t work out that way.  I figured the best way to clear the cobwebs from my head was to start with my house.  I started by deep cleaning the bathroom, then I dusted and started scrubbing the floors on hands and knees, it just gets cleaner that way.  That was when I heard the tornado coming from my toilet.  All the water got sucked out and stinky air was blowing in, then nasty water started squirting out all over my clean bathroom.  I ran out in the street, hair wild, in my jammies and slippers to yell at the city workers. I’m sure I was quite a sight.  Of course that did no good, so I came in and cleaned it again.  All that cleaning worked up an appetite:

Veggie burger with pepperjack cheese, Smart Balance mayo, ketchup, mustard, and lettuce on a whole wheat sandwich thin.  I did every last bit of laundry and even managed to squeak in a workout.  Yes, I moved up to level 2 in the Jillian Micheals 30 day shred dvd.  I was quite proud of myself, she’s one tough cookie. Then I showered and ran out to the store real quick to pick up a couple things for dinner.

Yummy fajitas with black beans.  You may ask how something that looks so delicious can be healthy.  Here’s how I did it.  I used lean organic round steak and marinated it in organic fajita seasoning.  I sautéed green and red peppers, and onions. I piled lots of peppers and onions, and a little beef onto whole wheat tortillas with a sprinkle of reduced fat mexican blend cheese and fat-free sour cream, then dosed it in Cholula hot sauce. For the black beans, I used low sodium beans , and seasoned them with hot sauce and a generous amount of cumin.  I looooove this meal.  So many traditional foods can be made healthy just by using low sodium, whole grain, low-fat versions of the traditional ingredients.  Mexican food is especially good to make healthy because of the strong flavors, you don’t miss the fat and salt at all.  I had a glass of red zin, which was much-needed after a day like today.  And my 2 squares of dark chocolate hit the spot.  See you all tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Not my day.

  1. The day sounds not so good, but the food sounds great. I am a spicey black bean burger fan myself. You sound like a great cook!
    Much love,
    Aunt Rita

Leave a Reply

