Healthy Burgers and Fries.

Happy Hump day!  Breakfast was a repeat of yesterday.  And I know I took a picture, but I can’t find it.  It was Bran Flakes with banana and almond milk.  I feel really good today.  I went to work for a few hours.  For lunch:

I used some leftover filling from my chili rellenos last night to make a taco salad.  Romaine lettuce, tomatoes, reduced fat cheese, black olives, and salsa. Yum- me!  After work, I stopped at Lowes to pick up some more plants.  It has been yard work extravaganza around here.  I’m trying to get this place looking good by Easter.  I came home and went for a run, and did some sit ups and push ups.  It was pretty warm out there.  So, I came home and cooled down with a green smoothie:

I used 1/4 of a frozen banana, 2 frozen strawberries, a couple chunks of mango, a small handful of blueberries, a sprinkle of flax seeds, a scoop of ORAC Energy Greens,and a splash of apple juice.  It cooled me down and refueled me. 

It is perfect weather for a burger and fries.

Made healthy of course.  The burger is made with extra lean ground turkey, on a whole wheat bun with Muenster cheese, lettuce, Smart Balance mayo, ketchup, mustard, and PICKLES!  For my fries, I cut up 2 potatoes (to serve my husband and I), sprayed them liberally with canola cooking spray, and baked on 425 for about 45 minutes, turning occasionally.  So many traditional unhealthy favorites can be made healthy.  It just takes a little imagination and experimentation.  For dessert, my trusty square of dark chocolate.  It never disappoints.  Good night.

Leave a Reply

