Two wedding weekend.

It was a busy weekend! We had Saturday and Sunday weddings.  And 2 more next weekend.  Tis the season for love!  My weekend started off with a wonderful Friday night meal.  I made brushetta, lasagna, and a salad:

For my brushetta topping, I used 8 Roma tomatoes, diced.  2 tablespoons finely chopped onion, 1/2 cup chopped basil, 1/4 cup grated parmesan, and a little less than 1/4 cup Italian dressing.  You can toast your own bread, but I just bought some ready-made.

Jean got me this dressing, and I love it!  It reminded me a little of a sweet dressing I used to have as a kid.  Thanks Jean!

I added some of the brushetta topping to a salad of romaine, cucumbers, and calamata olives.

Here’s how I made lasagna healthy.  I used whole wheat lasagna noodles, reduced fat cheeses, lean ground turkey, and Target’s brand all natural chicken sausage.  It rivaled my traditional not so healthy version. Yum!

For dessert, the tiniest sliver of cheesecake.  Thank you Sara Lee!  All of this made me so happy, I woke up the next morning with a smile:

Peanut butter toast and a naner.  Then I went to set up the wedding:

Lunch at work was leftovers:

Even better the next day.  I couldn’t resist this sherbert for dessert.  I love sherbert!

After work, it was back to yard duty.  I put down 25 more bags of mulch, got the hot tub cleaned up and ready to use.  It’s starting to look like something out there. 

Dinner was easy:

Pulled chicken sandwich and sweet tater fries.  I had put 4 chicken breast in the crockpot with bbq sauce and a splash of water before I left for work.  All I had to do was shred the chicken and put the fries in the oven.  Crock pot meals are my favorite.  They take a little planning, but is so worth it, especially on a work day.  My crock pot is programmable, so I can set it to cook on high or low for so many hours, then it automatically goes to keep warm until I’m ready for it.  No dessert for me.  We ended up having some friends stop over and had a dance party on my back porch.

Today (Sunday) was breakfast in the car on the way to work:

Jimmy Dean D’Lite turkey sausage breakfast sandwich on whole wheat muffin with egg whites.  I don’t know why my pictures are being blurring.  I need a new camera methinks.

Another beautiful wedding:

I intended to do more yard work when I got home.  I only got down about 7 bags of mulch before the rain came.  I didn’t mind too much, because rain, thunder, and lightning make the best naps.  I feel refreshed after a busy weekend.  I needed that because next weekend, although I’m not working is even busier.  Friday is my husband’s birthday, Saturday is our 5 year anniversary, and Sunday is Easter.  I have a lot of preparations to do this week, as well as work, and work out.  I missed my work outs this weekend, but told myself yard work counts.

Dinner was leftover lasagna:

And a salad.  It’s still pretty early, so I think I’ll clean the kitchen and work on the Quickbooks.  See y’all tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

