Run Forrest, Run!

I just felt like run-nang!  Today something unusual happened.  I went on my usual run, but normally, I run for .2 miles, then walk for .2 miles. (yes that’s 2/10ths of a mile), for a total of 2 miles plus a half mile warm up and a half mile cool down.  Well, today, I did a couple of walk/runs, but then, I just kept running.  I went a mile without stopping!  I know that may not sound like much to some of you, but for me it was a milestone.  I’ve mentioned before how I always get REALLY winded when I run (ever since I was a kid), but today was different, YAY!  I ran for a total of 2 miles and walked for 1.5 miles.

Maybe it was my breakfast:

Nope, the only unusual thing about my oatmeal is the banana slice standing straight up.  While I digested, I worked on Quickbooks, and filing my annual report, and laundry.  Then I went for my run.  When I got home, I went to work in the yard, mulching and raking.  I took a lunch break:

Salad with reduced sodium ham, tomatoes, and cucumber, and a Fiber One blueberry muffin.  Then I showered and gave myself a mani and pedi.  I had to run a couple of errands, so I grabbed a quick snack before heading out:

After the bank and the dreaded Wal-Mart, I came home and relaxed for a few minutes before starting dinner:

Pan seared tilapia, brown rice and quinoa, and broccoli with Uniekaas Reserve cheese. 

http://dillydeliwinecheesegourmet.blogspot.com/2004/10/new-cheese-uniekaas-gouda.html  describes this cheese as follows:

“There are lots of goudas out there, and this is something special. Royal Black Gouda is a premium aged Dutch Gouda, aged eighteen months. Almost but not quite as hard as Parmesan Reggiano, this cow’s milk cheese is firm, golden, and has a wonderful rich nutty flavor. It can be enjoyed with wine or beer, or grated onto pastas, gratins and other dishes.” 

It was very good.  Gave the broccoli a bite and added lots of flavor without adding salt and pepper.  To make the tilapia, I melted about 2 T. Smart Balance butter in a skillet on medium, and seared the tilapia a few minutes on each side until flaky.  To season the fish, I used Costco’s brand 21 spice blend (no salt, YAY!).

Very good meal.  Of to bed soon.  Another busy day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

