I’m back!

Wow! What a busy weekend!  I was so upset that I forgot my camera Friday night! We went out to eat at the Texas Cattle Company. It was the best meal I’ve had in a looong time.  We had bacon wrapped scallops to start, a yummy salad, and I had a filet with garlic mashed potatoes with blue cheese gravy, sautéed onions, mushrooms, and Hollandaise sauce.  When I woke up Saturday morning, my husband used my leftover steak for a wonderful steak and eggs, with a mimosa, for our 5 year anniversary:

For lunch, he made Quorn “chicken” sandwiches:

One for me, one for him.

And for dinner, takeout pizza:

Deep dish style, all the yummy toppings are hidden on the inside.  Not a very healthy day, or weekend for that matter.  But so darn good.

Then yesterday was Easter.  I had a big Easter celebration at my house for about 15 family and friends.  Here was the spread:

To start: Vickie’s brushetta(8 diced Roma tomatoes, 2 T finely diced red onion, 1/2 cup shredded basil, 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese, and 1/2 cup Ken’s Zesty Italian dressing) served over garlic toasts, zesty crab dip with crackers, and watermelon cups with feta, mint, and shallot.

Deviled eggs, broccoli salad, and cheesy broccoli squares.

Sue and Gloria’s baked beans: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paulas-home-cooking/sue-and-glorias-baked-beans-recipe/index.html,  I adapt this recipe a little by cutting down on the amount of pineapple and using maple syrup instead of molasses, and everybody loves them. Also, cheesy potatoes, and ham.

And then there was dessert:

Cheesecake, cookies, cupcakes, snickerdoodle blondies, and Carol’s famous carrot cake, which was the hit of the party.

Too much food, by today, I was really in the mood for some healthy eating.  So it was back to my cereal with banana for breakfast:

Back to work.  Really just wanted to sleep all day and recoup from the fun weekend.  But it felt good to get ahead for the 2 weddings this weekend.  I brought lunch to work:

A little leftover ham with some bbq sauce in a whole wheat tortilla, some carrots and red pepper strips.  ( I wanted something healthier than ham, but I hate to waste food.  When I got home from work, I packed up most of the leftovers and distributed them to our neighbors.  For dinner, I took the leftover brushetta, and put it over some grilled chicken and couscous, with a side of broccoli salad:

I couldn’t finish this, well I could have, but I hit the brakes, and saved room for dessert:

The tiniest sliver of cheesecake, half a cupcake, and half a cookie.  Just the right amount.  I love to taste everything.  I have trouble at buffets, because I want to try it all.  Now I’m going to bed to rejuvenate myself.

One thought on “I’m back!

Leave a Reply

