Did ya miss me?

I have not died, I have not quit blogging, but I have gotten over my no meat kick.  When you start dreaming about meat and getting stomach aches from eating soy products when it is obvious you have a mild allergy to the stuff, it is time to kick that “Skinny Bitch” out and get back to a healthier way of eating for me.  I do try to buy chicken and beef that is organic and humanely treated.  I also try to buy organic dairy and cage free eggs.  For fruits, and vegetables, I try to stay clear of the dirty dozen, and buy conventional on anything I don’t eat the skin of.  It is all a learning process and my eating habits are evolving as I go.  This is “Emilee’s Health Food Journey” after all.

My journey started off this morning with my trusty old oatmeal:

Sprinkled with bananas and chia seeds (read about them here:  http://whatscookingamerica.net/CharlotteBradley/Chai-Seeds.htm)  I also had one scrambled egg, I don’t know why I didn’t take a picture.

Then I made the bed, folded some laundry and threw together a vegetable soup to slowly cook in the crock pot.  After I felt digested enough, I went the gym, which is where I have been running since the Florida summer heat is in full swing.  Oddly enough, I actually like running on the treadmill.  I like being able to see my distance, speed, and time, it inspires me to push myself harder.  My goal is to run my first 5K in the fall.  Today I almost ran that distance, I actually went 3.5 miles, but I walked 5 minutes for warm up, 5 minutes for cool down, and about 3 minutes half way through.  I was still proud of myself and felt strong and healthy afterward. 

For lunch I enjoyed a salad:

With hard boiled egg whites, grilled chicken breast, heirloom tomatoes, and cucumbers.  Then I went to work to meet with a bride about designing her wedding in January.  Thankfully I packed a snack, but I didn’t get a picture.  It was a handful of fresh pineapple chunks with some plain greek yogurt.  2 hours later, I was hungry again, so I munched on some celery sticks.  Then about 20 minutes went by, and hungry strikes again.  So instead of waiting for hubby to get home, I dug into a bowl of my veggie soup:

I had leftover cabbage and kidney beans, as well as opened boxes of vegetable and chicken stock, so I dumped those into the crock pot and added the following:

16 ounces tomato sauce, can of diced tomatoes, barley, fingerling potatoes, and frozen mixed veggies, Costco’s 21 season blend, salt and pepper, and some hot sauce.  Cooked it on low for about 8 hours.

So good, I had another bowl directly after this one.  I’m contemplating dessert.  I think I’ll have a glass of wine while I think about it.  And sorry for the absence, but I’m back now.  Enjoy your evening!

Leave a Reply

