Extended vacation

Hello everyone.  As you may have guessed, I’m not very good at posting while on vacation.  Apparently, I’m not very good at posting after vacation either.  It took a while to get back to my routine.  It started off today with this:

Ezekiel english muffin with pb & j and some cantaloupe.  These Ezekiel muffins are great.  A nutritional powerhouse.  Dense, chewy and filling.  Delicious!

I wasn’t completely in the blogging swing of things, as I forgot to take my camera to work.  For lunch I had a turkey sandwich on Ezekiel bread and some baby carrots.  Can ya picture it?  That bread hits the spot.  I wasn’t even hungry for my typical afternoon, pre gym snack.

At the gym, I did the ol treadmill for 3.1 miles.  Yes, that is the distance of a 5K.  This is a huge accomplishment for me.  Just 5.5 months ago, I started this running journey and could barely run a whole minute. Huffing and puffing the whole time.  I found an e-mail program online called “30 days to 30 minutes running”.  (Yes it took me longer than 30 days, but that’s besides the point).  When I could run 1 mile, that was a huge milestone for me. Pun intended.  Now I can run almost 3 miles! I say almost because, there is some warm up and cool down and a couple short walks in between to get my heart rate and drink.  But darn it, I’m proud of myself!

Enough patting myself on the back, I’m signing up for a 5K, and aiming for a half marathon!

After my workout, I refueled with a power smoothie.  This puppy has it all!

Yes it’s a brownish hue of pure nutrition.  Tastes much better than it looks and sounds trust me;

-half a frozen banana, a couple of chunks frozen mango, 1 frozen strawberry, some frozen cherries, and blueberries is the fruit.

-non-fat plain greek yogurt for some protein.

-chia seeds

-a big handful of baby spinach (you really can’t taste this, and it’s so darn good for you, just try it, kay?)

-some apple juice

Cool, fruity and delicious!

More veggie goodness for dinner:

Homemade pizza on whole wheat crust with loads of veggies and chicken sausage and a salad.  I only had 2 pieces of this very filling pizza, and I picked the sausage off after biting into a very crunchy piece.  Bone or beak?  Gross either way!  Oh what shall  have for dessert this Friday evening?  Good night.

One thought on “Extended vacation

Leave a Reply

