Camera Disaster Averted

After a dip in the hot tub and several days drying out, my camera has survived.  I was really happy I didn’t have to spend the money on a new one right now, but kinda disappointed that I am not forced to upgrade right now.  Oh well, onward to my eats.  Here’s my dinner from the other night, pre hot tub swim:

Chimichurri steak with a lighter version of cheesy potatoes and broccoli.  It was great except I over did it on the chimichurri sauce.  A little goes a long way.  I lightened up the potatoes by using reduced fat cheese and milk.

Recipe is from Sept/Oct issue of Clean Eating magazine:

Chimichurri sauce:

-20 sprigs of parsley

-5 sprigs of cilantro

-4 cloves of garlic

-2 T red wine vinegar

-1 T vegetable broth

-1/4 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt

-1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

-1/4 tsp sea salt

Whirl it all up in a food processor.

Today’s breakfast was my usual:

I never used to like oatmeal until I discovered what peanut butter and bananas do to it.  Now I eat it like every day. (P.S. This is an old photo, as my camera was not working this morning).  And for lunch, no camera.  It was a low sodium ham sandwich on a bagel thin with low-fat swiss cheese, Smart Balance mayo, mustard and pickles with a side of carrots and hummus.

For dinner, I grilled up a cajun seasoned pork loin and served it with mango salsa and leftover cheesy taters, and a little broccoli.

For the mango salsa, I chopped a mango, tomato,avocado,  half a cucumber (no seeds), quarter of a red onion, 2 T of cilantro, and mixed it up with salt, pepper, the juice of a lime, and some diced jalapeno (from a jar cuz that’s what I had).

Events of the day:

Worked from 9:30-3:00.  Went to the gym and logged 3 miles on the treadmill.  Not the most eventful day I guess, but it was a good one.

After the gym, I snacked on 2 Wasa crackers with melted reduced fat swiss cheese.

Things I’m grateful for today:

My mom, my job, my family, my friends, feeling great, the ability to see possibilities.  What are you grateful for today??????

3 thoughts on “Camera Disaster Averted

  1. Pingback: Farmers Market Dinner « Emilee's Health Food Journey

Leave a Reply

