Post crisis recap.

I’m back and glad to say, I made it through my mini mid-life crisis and came out of the other side more peaceful, balanced and energized.  Ready to tackle my new phase I’m entering.

Let me explain my thoughts.  As I was approaching my 35th year of life (I’m 34, but your first year of life is from birth to 1, right?), I started thinking that I’m not where I imagined myself at this point.  I keep feeling like I’m almost there. Kind of like I’m practicing for my “real life”, when I finally arrive.  Then, the other day, I came across an article in Whole Living magazine about the concept of Wabi Sabi.  From my understanding, it is a Japanese aesthetic philosophy about finding beauty in the imperfect, ever-changing reality we live in.  The article put it beautifully, if you can’t buy the magazine, try to google it, it really has totally changed my perspective.

So I tied up some loose ends, put some future goals into action, and decided to look for beauty in the now.  In the imperfect, transient now.  In fact, now is so precious, because it is fleeting, it will soon change and never be the same.  I shall embrace it!

So back to business here on this food blog.  I started my day with my usual oatmeal with peanut butter and banana. Then I hopped into my workout get up and headed to the gym for some weight lifting and running on the treadmill.

Post workout, I fueled up with some leftover turkey tetrazzini:

It is a casserole made with turkey breast, whole wheat spaghetti, onions, celery, green peppers, mushrooms, pimento, jalapeno, cream of mushroom soup, and shredded parmesan cheese.  This was the last of my leftovers.  It keep me full all the way until a late dinner, which was one of my experiments:

I’ll call it “Grown up, homemade hamburger helper”.  I browned some lean ground beef, added onions, mushrooms, little potatoes, salt and pepper, worcsheshire (spell check is no help here) sauce, thyme, sage, garlic powder, fat-free cream of mushroom soup, a splash of sherry, and a few handfuls of spinach at the end.  On the side, I made brie and pear crostinis.  But I ended up taking the pear off and eating it separately, then dipping the brie and bread in the gravy.  It was awesome!

Big day tomorrow.  Wedding season is soooo close, it’s getting busy.  Good night.

2 thoughts on “Post crisis recap.

  1. Thanks for the inspiring post Emily!
    I love cooking heathy stuff for my family. I just made kale chips.
    So good! Kale (washed and de-stemmed), toss with some olive oil and sea salt. Bake at 375 until crispy and and brown on the edges.
    Yum!
    I look forward to more of your posts!

Leave a Reply

