Comfort foods.

What are your comfort foods?  Mine are the foods I most remember eating while growing up.  Among them are meatloaf, lasagna, pot roast, stuffed peppers ( we called them stuffed mangoes, I have no idea why), cabbage rolls, spaghetti, fried swiss macaroni and cheese, just to name a few.   Tonight’s menu featured an old comfort food, probably familiar to you  if you grew up in Northeastern Ohio, the cream chicken sandwich, so simple and yet so satisfying.

All I did was put 2 chicken breasts in a crock pot with 2 cans of cream of chicken soup and cooked until it shredded easily with a fork  and served on a bun.  For my side, I had  2 more comfort foods mixed together, potatoes and cabbage fried up in a little olive oil salt and pepper.

And check out what I’m about to eat for dessert:

I can only describe this as the most delicious homemade snicker on the face of the Earth.  Carol, can I please have this recipe?  She made it a while ago, but I froze some for a special treat.  It is heavenly!!!  I defrosted it and it melted a little, can’t wait to dig in.

On the menu for tomorrow is meat loaf.

Maybe it’s the time of year, but comfort foods are what I’m longing for right now.  What are you craving?

One thought on “Comfort foods.

Leave a Reply

