Blissful day off.

Ahhhh!  I managed to squeak in a day off smack dab in the middle of wedding season.  I was able to catch up on house work, Compass Coatings work, laundry, a glorious bike ride, pedicure, and a trip to the Goodwill where I scored on a George Foreman grill for 4 bucks.  Go  me!!!  I’ve been wanting one of these for a while now and had to try it out as soon as I walked in the door (well after a good cleaning off course):

I promptly grilled up a yellow squash I got at our local and famous Parkesdale Farms.  Tommorow’s post will showcase all the goodies I got for only 10 bucks.  I’m on a bargain shopping roll!

The grill worked great and the only visible wear was the “George Foreman logo” coming off the top. And it was missing the drip tray, but I can deal with that.  Oh, paninis here I come.

Here’s a shot of my makeshift drip tray:

Dinner was another grilling creation.  Creole grilled cod with mango salsa.

Action shot:

The salsa was a use up of my produce drawer:  Dice the following:  1 mango, 1 cucumber (deseeded), 2 Roma tomatoes, 1 avocado, 1 red bell pepper, 1/2 red onion, 1 jalapeno.  Squeeze a lime and a lemon in, drizzle with olive oil and add salt and pepper.

Another glorious part of my day was spent catching up on blog reading where I was inspired to make this Baked Oatmeal:

Thanks Katie, it turned out great.  I can’t wait to eat it for breakfast tomorrow.  But for, now, Good night!

Leave a Reply

