Homemade chicken soup and hot totties.

This weekend was a blur.  Really, I hardly remember it, I worked with a high fever on Friday, lost my voice by Saturday night and stayed in bed all day Sunday.  I think I have strep throat.  It’s Monday and my voice has come back.  But I still have a sore throat and cough.  Here’s some pics of my blur:

This was Saturday’s wedding.  Isn’t scary butler cute?

Then Saturday night we had planned a Halloween party, and although I REALLY wasn’t feeling up to it, hubby wanted to still have it, and since I planned a cute costume, I got fixed up and we had people over and watched scary movies outside on the big screen.  It was fun, but by the end of the night, my voice was gone.

Oh yes, the costumes.  We were 1980’s prom queen and king:

You can’t really see my teased bangs in the picture.  But they were high and stiff!

Like I said, I stayed in bed all day Sunday, only moving to bathe and go to the bathroom.  My King took great care of me bringing me medicines and food all day.  He even tried to make chicken noodle soup. It was chicken broth, noodles and carrots, not so great, but he tried.

Today I feel like I’m on the mend, and mustered up the energy to go to the grocery store.  I needed a lot of basics, and I picked up a rotiserrie chicken to turn his batch of noodles into something great.

I started by picking all the chicken off.  Then I threw the skin and bones in a big pot of water with an onion, 2 celery stalks, 2 carrots, 10 cloves of garlic, 6 oz. of mushrooms, 2 bay leaves, salt and pepper, and simmered away for about an hour and a half.  I figure it may be the equivalent of about 6 boxes of chicken broth.  That’ almost $20 worth!!!  I may never by stock again.  And the flavor is so much better.  It gave my soup a rich, buttery,almost velvety texture.  I added half the chicken (saved the rest for tomorrow’s dinner), and the leftover noodles.

Now that’s a magical soup!

I also whipped up a hot tottie to chase off this sore throat.  I used about 3 oz, of whiskey, the juice of a lemon and a tablespoon of honey.  Warmed it in the micro and am sipping it as we speak.  Hopefully, I’ll be back to normal tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

