More cabbage?

Here’s that dessert from last night I promised you.

I live in the wonderful town of Plant City, Florida. The winter strawberry capital of the world. And it just so happens that the berries are coming in early this year. I loaded up at the famous Parkesdale Farms.

It was featured on the Food Network, and President Obama came for their awesome strawberry shortcake.


I cut up a few, melted some chocolate chips and went to heaven. They are really sweet and delicious. Didn’t even need the chocolate, but chocolate never hurts a thing.

For breakfast this morning, they joined my oatmeal, and I had another Parkesdale Farms specialty, freshly squeezed orange juice, also local and in season. Hopefully it will help me fight this cold that’s been lurking around.

I had to run some errands, and do some shopping and I didn’t get home until well after lunch. I opted to test out my neighbor’s juicer that I am borrowing.

I used 2 large carrots, 2 small granny smith apples, a chunk of ginger, and a couple handfuls of kale. Wow, that ginger made it zippy. I’ve been wanting to try juicing for a while, and now that iI finally have, here are my thoughts: The juice tasted pretty good and gave me a nice energy bump, but I couldn’t help feeling bad about all the waste produced. About 2 cups of fruit and veggie pulp. All that fiber could have done me good. Also, it was very messy and kind of hard to clean the machine. And the machine is big and takes up a lot of counter space. So my verdict is, I’ll finish up the giant bag of carrots and apples I got and return the juicer happily to my neighbor. I prefer to eat my fruits and veggies and get the fiber benefit, thank you.

As for dinner, I must not have had my share of cabbage from all the sauerkraut I’ve been eating, because I thought it would be a good idea to make cabbage rolls. Here’s all you need:

I mixed a pound of ground very lean ground beef with about 2 cups of rice, 1/4 cup tomato sauce, salt and pepper, and a 21 season blend from Costco. I boiled the whole head of cabbage minus most of the core. I put a little tomato sauce on the bottom of a casserole dish, rolled up a handful of the rice, beef mixture in the cabbage leaves like little burritos, poured the rest of the tomato sauce over top and cooked at 350 for 2 hours.

Yummy, now the strawberries are calling my name again.

Leave a Reply

