Herbed green beans and potatoes

Well, it officially feels like vacation is over. It’s back to work, back to the gym, and back to healthy eats. I have managed to squeak in about 2 days a week in the gym during the holidays, not bad, not bad. And I tried to throw in some veggies with all the cookies, drinks, and other splurges. I didn’t gain any noticeable weight and my clothes all still fit, so I’d say it was a successful holiday season. It’s also good to know that I can still enjoy treats and splurges and not have to worry about putting the 20 pounds back on I worked so hard to get off. It helps to be able to enjoy life’s pleasures without feeling guilty about it. I do notice, however, the immediate effects of overindulging. Christmas day, I had heartburn or indigestion so bad I thought I was having a heart attack. It just feels better to eat better.

So eat better today I did, Yoda says.

For breakfast, oatmeal with peanut butter and bananas:

Then I hit the gym pretty hard.

Lunch was a big ol salad:

Lettuce with black eyed peas, hard boiled egg, brown rice, 2 ounces of chicken, celery, grape tomatoes, and bean sprouts, with Bolthouse Farms yogurt ranch dressing. If you like ranch, try this stuff it’s in the refrigerated produce section, you will not be disappointed.

Then it was of to work to meet with a beautiful bride and start preparing for the wedding this weekend. Stay tuned, as it is going to be so unique and beautiful.

After work, I raced home to gobble down some dinner. Working out hard really amps up the appetite!

The fabulous Mary, mother of the bride for this coming wedding, and gardener extraordinaire gave me some fresh picked organic parsley and dill from Cross Creek Ranch’s herb garden. I racked my brain for a way to use it tonight and I came up with Herbed Green Beans and Potatoes.

I had one russet potato, which I cubed, and some fresh green beans I got at my trip to Parkesdale Farms. I sauteed them in olive oil and added about 2 tablespoons of the fresh chopped parsley and dill. It was sooooo good. I heated up a leftover cabbage roll to go with them.

My belly is full and my heart is content.

One thought on “Herbed green beans and potatoes

Leave a Reply

