Black Bean Brownies

An especially beautiful wedding yesterday:

I loved it! Today was my day off, but I ended up going into work for a few hours anyway to meet with a bride. Breakfast was my usual, oatmeal with peanut butter and banana. I’m trying something new for breakfast tomorrow. I worked in the morning, came home and had a late lunch of leftover chili. I was craving chili the other day with the cooler temps. I made a huge batch and have been eating it for 3 days. I eat it over brown rice:

With a some raw veggies. I cleaned up the house and went to the gym. Then came home to relax a little.

For dinner, I grilled some chicken breasts, roasted some carrots and heated up some brown rice (from a big batch I made yesterday). To freshen it up, I added some fresh parsley.

Speaking of fresh herbs. I have 2 window boxes on the front windows of my house. I thought it would be fun to turn them into herb gardens. I took out the dead mums from the fall and planted rosemary, thyme, basil, mint, parsley, chives, tarragon, mint, and oregano. I hope they do well. Pictures to come soon.

For dessert, I had a black bean brownie. I googled how to make them, and the easiest recipe was to take a boxed brownie mix, and instead of the egg and oil, drain and rinse a can of black beans, put back in can, fill can of beans with water, puree in food processor, mix with brownie mix, and bake according to directions. Mine took about ten minutes longer than the box said. Pretty good, you can not taste the beans, no one would ever know they were in there if you didn’t tell them.

I like to dip the bottom in sugar and smear peanut butter on top. Yum!

Leave a Reply

