Healthy Eating

I’ve been thinking about the definition of health, and what it means to eat healthy. It seems everyone has an idea of what healthy eating is. No carbs, low-fat, 100 calorie packs of artificial sweetener laced crap. Companies have used the health craze to market their products which may or may not be the healthiest choice. This can make it even more confusing to choose healthy foods.

My strategy is to eat as many whole foods as possible. I think of whole foods as those that grow in nature. Veggies, grains, and meat. I also read those ingredient lists and nutrition stats. Don’t just rely on the clever packaging.

I try to eat this way the majority of the time. However, I also enjoy the occasional treats. Nothing is totally off-limits. There are just too many things to enjoy in this world. And food is meant to be enjoyed!

I enjoyed all my food today. From the wholesome, to the treats.

Breakfast was wholesome with Magical Breakfast Cream.

Then I did some housework,went to the bank, the gym, and the library. There are some great cookbooks at the library.

Lunch was a quick taco using leftover chicken. I like to cook up a bunch to use throughout the week:

I used about 3 ounces of grilled chicken chopped up and microwaved with a little salsa, then I put it on a whole wheat tortilla with a little cheese, lettuce, tomato,Greek Yogurt, and hot sauce. With the rest of the tomato on the side.
Their was also a hand full of these treats:

And for an afternoon snack, I had another treat:

I have been craving rice crispy treats.

In the afternoon, I worked in the office doing months of Quickbooks from our business: Compass Coatings. My office duties kind of took a back seat when I started doing weddings. Must learn how to balance both!

Dinner was pasta:

Spinach garlic fettucine with a turkey tomato basil sauce, and a sprinkle of Parmigiano Reggiano. I splurge on the good expensive stuff, and a little goes a long way.
And a salad:

With red leaf lettuce, yellow peppers, grape tomatoes, cucumbers, carrots, and green olives. And for dessert, another rice crispy treat. These instantly transform me back to childhood.

Yummy day!

One thought on “Healthy Eating

Leave a Reply

