Me Make Ceasar?

I did it! I made real Caesar dressing. Why have I always been intimidated by this? Maybe it was the raw egg? Maybe the anchovies? But this recipe called for mayonnaise, no raw egg. And for anchovies, I used anchovy paste. (Recipe adapted from 2010 Food & Wine Annual Cookbook)

-1/2 cup mayo (I used a light kind made with olive oil)
-2 anchovies (I used 2 squirts of anchovy paste)
-1 small garlic clove, chopped
-1 T capers
-1 T lemon juice
-1 T water
-1 T Dijon mustard
– 2 T parmesan cheese
-salt and pepper

Take it all for a whirl in the food processor. Then mix some in with romaine lettuce and top with croutons and a sprinkle of parmesan.

Main course was sausage mushroom yumminess pasta.

-1 chopped onion
-3 cloves chopped garlic
-1 cup chopped mushrooms

Saute above in olive oil, sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Add:

– 4 links of chicken Italian sausage
-1 T Italian seasoning
-1 t fennel seeds
-28 ounce can of tomatoes (I crushed them in my hands)
– a little more s&p

Simmer everything for about 45 minutes and add a couple handfuls of spinach at the end. Serve over pasta (I used a gourmet mushroom pasta). Sprinkle with parmesan and enjoy!

I didn’t eat breakfast this morning. I woke up late. I wasn’t the least bit hungry, and even though I kept thinking I should, I just didn’t. I don’t want to fall back into my old routine of never eating breakfast, but if I’m not the least bit hungry, I see no need in forcing myself.

I was hungry for lunch however. Leftover taco salad it was:

I did a late afternoon 3 mile run around the neighborhood. Came home, showered and refueled with a small smoothie:

-1/4 C nonfat Greek yogurt
-1/2 frozen banana
-a few frozen berries (blueberries, strawberries,and blackberries)
-a couple chunks frozen mango
-1 T ground flax seed
– a large handful spinach
-splash of apple juice

After a ten minute power nap, I was ready to start prepping dinner. Hence, the above delicious Caesar salad and pasta dinner.

Leave a Reply

