Celebrate Life.

I don’t really know how to approach this post. It seems pretty irrelevant what I ate today. Today, my Aunt Jan went to heaven. And while I know through and through that I will be with her one day, it still hurts so much, (but only in the moments that I can grasp that it is real). Aunt Jan was the funniest story-teller I have ever met. Most of my memories are sitting at her kitchen table at the farm, talking and laughing. Cracking up laughing! There was never a sad moment at the farm, only celebrations. So today and everyday, I will celebrate her life. Everyone who knew her loved her, and she will be greatly missed.

I embraced the celebration of life and went for a leisurely walk/run this morning. (Ate a banana before I went). Came home, showered, and got ready for work. Made a green smoothie for the ride to work:

It’s ugly, I know. In the mix: 2 cups raw spinach, 1/2 frozen banana, 1/4 cup frozen mango, 2 frozen strawberries, a couple frozen blueberries, 1/2 cup nonfat Greek yogurt, 2 T ground flax-seed, 3 T oats, 1/4 cup apple juice, a splash of water to thin it out. Tastes much better than it looks.

I took a late lunch of leftovers to work:

Chicken meatloaf and corn with some multi-grain bread.

My dinner time quest was to figure out what the heck to do to that meat loaf to keep it interesting. My meatloaf hash did the trick:

I roasted some potatoes in the oven on 400 for about 25 minutes, sautéed some green and yellow peppers with some onions in extra v olive oil. Added the leftover cut up meat loaf, some garbanzo beans, cut up the taters and added those. Then I poured in the leftover meatloaf sauce, thinned out with a little water and cooked for about 10 minutes. It was quite tasty!

Dessert was a Ferrero Rocher and a couple bites of hubby’s Little Debbie cake. My eyes are sore and tired. I think I’ll go to bed soon. I love you Aunt Jan!!!!

One thought on “Celebrate Life.

Leave a Reply

