How to make a smoothie a meal

I often have a smoothie as a quick, satisfying, on the go, or after work out meal. I like to bulk it up with protein, grains, fruits and veggies, and a healthy fat.

This went into the blender:

Lots of spinach, some frozen berries, mango, and half a banana, Chobani Greek yogurt, flax-seed, oats, apple juice, and a splash of water to thin it out:

Filling and substantial. Tasty too.

This was lunch after the gym. I rode my bike the 2 miles there and back. This weather is gorgeous!

Then I went to drop some stuff at the Goodwill, pick up a prescription, and to the grocery store. Highlight of my trip: I got a $13.00 block of Parmigiano Reggiano cheese for free at Publix! Whoop, whoop! It said it was on sale for $16.99 a pound ( I know, expensive still, but worth it) The package didn’t have the sale price on it, and the lady at the deli assured me it would ring up on sale. It didn’t, so they gave it to me for free! The said it was a Publix promise. Was not expecting that. Thanks Publix!

My good day just kept getting better. I came home, got the mail. There was no bills, no junk mail, just an issue of Cooking Light magazine. Here’s a picture of my perfect afternoon:

Fresh veggies (carrots, cucumber slices, and yellow peppers) with spicy hummus, a glass of Pinot Grigio (yes, on ice, it was warm, and I was ready).

Kick up the feet on the back porch and enjoy the upper 70 degree temps. Ahhhhh!
The kitties joined me to bask in the warm weather. All four of them;


Dinner was grilled chicken breast, whole wheat couscous, and a salad with broccoli slaw, cucumbers, and yellow peppers.

Looking forward to a good night’s sleep tonight. Tomorrow kicks of wedding season at Cross Creek Ranch. Stay tuned for pictures of the wedding set up.

Leave a Reply

