Love, sweet love.

It’s time to exhale. Another stunning wedding is currently underway at the beautiful Cross Creek Ranch.






People are celebrating, dancing, and laughing. I’m at home curled up in my fuzzy robe with a glass of wine and some Eiler’s chocolate, which is the best chocolate in the world, sent to me by the best dad and step mom in the world.

I’m looking forward to a relaxing evening at home and a much needed day off tomorrow.

Events of the week included 3 trips to the gym, lots of work, a wonderful girl’s night out, got my hair did (much blonder), pictures to come, bought a new dress and a new pair of shoes, struggled with severe eye allergies, and dropped my phone in the toilet.

Cooking for the week was limited to one session of grilling chicken, making a big batch of brown rice, and some hard-boiled eggs. I ate the eggs for breakfasts with a banana most days, and morphed the chicken and rice into various lunch and dinner creations. One of those was my Southwest chicken and rice, enjoyed both for dinner last night, and lunch today.

Here’s what I did. I put about a cup of the cooked brown rice in a pot with a can of rinsed low sodium black beans, 1/2 cup of frozen corn, a generous pinch of cumin, coriander, chili powder and cayenne, a small can of tomato sauce and a splash of water and cooked for about 10 minutes. Then I added the chopped up chicken and warmed through. I melted some cheese on topped and plenty of hot sauce, and voila dinner, lunch, plus an additional serving that I might eat tomorrow or freeze.

One thought on “Love, sweet love.

Leave a Reply

