Eating My Green

I carry my tribute to the Irish all year round on my foot:

Really it’s for good luck. Especially since there’s a black cat lurking in there.

I did wear green today, but I also ate green. For breakfast was a green smoothie.
Click here to learn about the green smoothie.
Really, you can not taste the spinach in a smoothie, just do it and get your greens.

Dinner was anything but Irish. I added some peas and spinach to the dish just for fun. And let’s face it, I have been eating a lot of chocolate lately and not so many greens, and whole grains. So I put on my apron this St. Patty’s day and cooked up a healthy pasta dish to power my way through this 3 wedding weekend.



Sauce: Ground turkey, sautéed with fennel seeds, crushed red pepper flakes, Italian seasoning, olive oil, salt and pepper. One jar of Bertolli tomato and basil pasta sauce.

Noodles: Whole wheat penne pasta boiled in salted water, slightly undercooked.

Greens: A cup of frozen spinach and two cups fresh spinach.

Cheeses: sharp cheddar, mozzarella, parmesan.

Baked at 350 for about 30 minutes.

And plenty left over to get me through the weekend. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

