Green-ya Colada

This green smoothie didn’t taste exactly like my beloved Pina Colada, but it was reminiscent:

I used fresh pineapple (about 1/2 cup),half a frozen banana, frozen mango (about 5 pieces), 2 cups of fresh spinach, 1T flax-seed, 1/4 cup oatmeal, a splash of coconut milk, and a little water to thin it out. Pretty tasty and festive.

Lunch today was a giant salad. How do my salads get so ginormous. They start off innocently enough, a bed of greens, a couple of baby carrots, a tomato (wow, that tomato is good, guess I’ll use the whole thing). Add some leftover curry rice and some sautéed chicken, and this bowl is much bigger than it appears.

I ate it all! Worked up an appetite at the gym.

I came up with an easy (not so healthy) creamed spinach last night:

I used 2 boxes of thawed frozen spinach (squeeze out the water), 4 cloves of garlic, and an entire 8 oz container of cream cheese.

Simmer garlic on low in olive oil (about 4T should do it). Make sure the temp is low, burnt garlic is awful. I slowly simmered the garlic until it turned a light golden brown, added the spinach and cream cheese, salt and pepper,and some milk to thin it out. While this tasted amazing, I was overkill on the cream cheese, so rich and filling. Next time I would use half the cream cheese and more milk. Still delicious!

Served with Grilled swordfish and corn on the cob. Tasty!

3 thoughts on “Green-ya Colada

  1. I used to drink green smoothies too! If you google them you can get really awesome recipies. There is even one that taste like cinnamon toast crunch and fruit loops cereal 🙂

  2. Hi Emilee, I came across your blog via the comments in the following blog healthforthewholeself. That green smoothie looks yummy may just have to give it a try one day. The swordfish looks good, never had it before, what is it like?

    Well good luck with your blog.

Leave a Reply

