Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

You don’t actually have to be sick to enjoy homemade chicken noodle soup, but since everyone I know, including myself has recently been struck by the flu, I thought I would share my method of making this magical elixir.

Start with a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store to save yourself a little time.


Take skin off and discard. Pull chicken off. Put bones in large pot of boiling water with half an onion, 1 stalk of celery, 2 bay leaves, pepper, and thyme. Boil for about 45 minutes.

Strain broth and discard bones and veggies. I enhanced my broth with a little organic chicken base. Taste and decide. Add to the broth noodles (I used a pot pie square type noodle from Amish country), chopped carrots, celery, onions, and mushrooms and cook until noodles are done. Yep, that’s all there is too it.

It freezes well too. So I’ll be all set next time I get sick. Wait, I take that back, I’m not going to get sick, next time I’m craving down home comfort food 🙂

Leave a Reply

