Meatless Monday Chili

Every once in a great while, I get a craving for a meatless meal. And in celebration of the ever popular Meatless Monday. I decided to throw together a meatless chili packed with veggies and grains.

My chilis are different every time. I really use a method and whatever ingredients I have on hand, rather than a recipe. Here is what I used today:

-red kidney beans

-black beans

-cannelinni beans

-large can of tomatoes (Cento San Marzano are my favorite)

-Boca crumbles (first time trying these)

-peppers (green,red,orange,yellow, and jalapeno)

-onion

-garlic

-carrots

-celery

-zuccini

-yellow squash

-kale

-barley

-lentils

-chili seasoning packet

I diced up the veggies and sautéed in a tiny bit of olive oil, salt and pepper, until just softened.  Put those into a large pot with barley, lentils, and beans that have been drained and rinsed.  Into saute pan, add Boca crumbles chili seasoning, can of tomatoes (make sure to crush them with your hands, that’s the fun part).  Cook for about 5 minutes, add to large pot.  Then add enough water for desired consistency.  I cooked mine for about 15 minutes, then tasted.  I decided it needed some extra seasoning, so I added cumin, ground coriander, paprika, 2 chopped chilis in adobo sauce and salt and a little sugar.  Much better. I cooked for about another hour and I finally added the kale in last, turned off heat a let sit on stove to cool.  Meanwhile sneaking spoonfuls every so often.

This pot is much, much larger than it appears.  I’m going to need some serious help eating this! Happy Meatless Monday!

One thought on “Meatless Monday Chili

Leave a Reply

