Back on the Health Wagon with Turkey Chili Rellenos

Today’s eats were typical of the healthy lifestyle I try to pursue.

Breakfast:

Oatmeal with bananas and peanut butter.

Then to the gym for some weight lifting and running. I did chest,triceps, calves, and abs, and ran 3 miles.

Lunch:

A smoothie. This one had frozen mango, frozen banana, frozen blueberries, Greek yogurt, oats, flax-seed, and coconut water. I usually put something green in there like spinach or kale, but I’m going out-of-town tomorrow and just trying to use up what I have. Unfortunately, I just ran out of coffee and didn’t want to buy again just for tomorrow. So, I put the leftover coffee (I always have leftovers, which I usually dump…why?) in a mason jar in the fridge and will enjoy an iced coffee for breakfast tomorrow… Genius!!!

Dinner was a use up meal. I had 4 poblano peppers, one avocado, some grape tomatoes, half an onion, some peppadew peppers,leftover marinara sauce, and a lime lurking in my fridge. The result:

Turkey Chili Rellenos:

I chopped up the onion and some peppadews and sautéed them with a pound of lean ground turkey and the following seasonings: Cumin, coriander, garlic powder, paprika, chili powder, cayenne pepper, 1/4 cup of marinara sauce,and just a little salt and pepper. I added 1/2 cup of water and cooked on low for about 15 minutes.

I cooked up 3/4 cup of brown rice. (I started this first because it takes the longest.)

I added the rice to the meat mixture.

I broiled the poblanos for about 10 minutes, then placed them in a bowl with foil on top to loosen the skin. I peeled the skin, took off the stem and took out the seeds.

I stuffed the meat/rice mixture in the peppers, topped with hot sauce, and some reduced fat cheese and baked until the cheese melted.

I topped with mixture of tomato avocado,lime juice, salt and pepper. Turkey Chili Rellanos is a great alternative to enchiladas.

I enjoyed this healthy day. I don’t feel lethargic and bloated like I did this weekend. Victory!

Leave a Reply

