Coconut Curry Chicken and Pineapple Gazpacho

As much as I love being on vacation, spending time with my family, and eating treats to my heart’s desire, it’s good to be back home, getting organized (or at least trying), and eating healthy. My last day in Ohio was spent at the Indians game:

Munching on things like hot dogs and beer:

And ending with a headache and bellyache and a big pile of the famous Yockey’s Fried Swiss Macaroni and Cheese:

Now that I’m back and thankfully I still fit into my clothes, here are some of the healthy treats I’ve been enjoying:

Coconut curry chicken:

I marinated the diced up chicken in a mix of lite coconut milk, curry powder, hot sauce, and soy sauce for about an hour. I sautéed it in a skillet, removed from pan, and added a mix of veggies to the pan. I used red peppers, onions, carrots, and broccoli in my coconut curry chicken. Then I added a little of the extra marinade (that I didn’t use on the chicken). After veggies are cooked, add the chicken back in and some cooked brown rice and voila…Coconut curry chicken. I garnished with some cilantro because I had it and a little hot sauce because I like it spicy!

Pineapple Gazpacho.

I had this amazing pineapple gazpacho at the Leafy Greens Cafe in St. Pete. It was so good, I had to try to re create it at home.

I used:
-one pineapple (finely dice about 1/2 cup and put aside)
-one cucumber (finely dice about 1/4 cup and put aside)
-a little jalapeno (about 1 teaspoon finely chopped)
-a little cilantro (about 1 Tablespoon)
-a little olive oil
-the juice of one lemon
-a little salt and pepper
-chopped macadamia nuts

Put ingredients (minus diced pineapple and cucumber that you put aside,and macadamia nuts (these are used for garnish)) in food processor and whirl until pureed. Put in bowl and stir in diced pineapple and cucumber. Sprinkle chopped nuts on top. This was also delicious the next day for breakfast over Greek yogurt. Or do yourself a favor and just go to Leafy Greens Cafe and order the pineapple gazpacho, and everything else on the menu.

In wedding news. There are 2 weddings this weekend, the last 2 of this season, then no more until September. And my little sister is getting married!!! And she asked me to be a bridesmaid!!! I’m so excited!!!

2 thoughts on “Coconut Curry Chicken and Pineapple Gazpacho

  1. I LOVE the pineapple gazpacho! yum! my daughter is allergic to nuts, so we just left it off and it was still delicious. I am thinking of bringing this to a bridal shower next week. thanks for posting,

Leave a Reply

