Grilled Southwest Style Chicken

I love when inspiration hits. It’s not something you have to think too hard at. It just shows up in your brain effortlessly. I wish I could tell you the secret to finding inspiration. I think for me, it has to do with keeping an open mind and having an “inspiration piece”, which is one item that you can build on. I used this method when I was an interior decorator. I would use a great piece of art work or a fabric and build an entire room from that piece.

Dinner last night was an impromptu Grilled Southwest Style Chicken, at my sister’s house, inspired by a bottle of spicy ranch dressing.

I grilled the chicken for 8 minutes on one side, flipped and spread a little of the spicy ranch dressing on it. Cooked for another 10 minutes, flipped and put on a little more dressing and some cheese, cooked for 2 more minutes.

I served it over some Uncle Ben’s Spanish style rice, which was sprinkled with corn. I topped the chicken with a little salsa and sour cream, and served a salad with tomatoes on the side. It was really good. Even these adorable babies ate some:


I love them.

That was yesterday’s dinner. For today’s eats:

Breakfast was a hard-boiled egg, some baby potatoes, and a few cherries. Then I went to the gym and had a great workout. I refueled with my typical green smoothie for lunch;

-spinach
-frozen half of banana
-frozen berries
-frozen mango
-plain Greek Yogurt
-flax seed
-oats
-coconut water

After lunch, I got my hair done. I have A LOT of hair, so it took a few hours. I was hungry when I got home, so instead of the steak I had planned for dinner after work, I made this quick meal before I went into work:

A sweet potato, topped with beans and bbq sauce, a salad, and rye bread with strawberry jam. It was surprisingly filling. I had to take a mini food coma nap before I went into work for a late meeting with a bride. It’s really awesome working in an environment filled with love and happiness!

Leave a Reply

