Crock Pot Chicken Tacos and Southwest Veggie Hash

My local farmer’s market is hit or miss. Most of the time it’s a hit. Today certainly was, look what I got for only $2.99!

It would cost more than double, maybe triple that in the grocery store. I was inspired by these goodies to make a Southwest veggie sweet potato hash to go with my crock pot chicken tacos I put on this morning. These tacos could not be simpler:

Crock Pot Chicken Tacos

-1 pound chicken breast
-1 packet low sodium taco seasoning
-2 cans of Rotel tomatoes (drain most of the juices.)

Put all ingredients in crock pot, set on low until the chicken shreds. I was out of the house for six hours, and it was perfect when I got home. Many people work at least 8 hours, plus the drive to work and back. I highly recommend a programmable crock pot. My crock pot can be programmed on low for 6 hours (or whatever time and temperature), after that, it automatically sets to “keep warm”. I love it!
And for my beautiful accompaniment:

Southwest Veggie Hash:

-1 sweet potato (peeled and diced)
-2 small zucchini (diced)
-1 sweet yellow pepper (diced)
-1 tomato (diced)
-finely diced jalapeno (I used about a teaspoon, it was a hot one)
-3 scallions (chopped)
-juice of a lime
-cumin (1 tablespoon)
-chili powder (1 teaspoon)
-coriander (1 teaspoon)
-s&p
-olive oil


Saute sweet potatoes in a large frying pan with a little olive oil, add peppers, zucchini, pepper, jalapeno, and scallions, saute. Add tomatoes, season everything with a little s&p, cumin, coriander, chili powder, and the juice of one lime. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Crock Pot Chicken Tacos and Southwest Veggie Hash

  1. Those look yummy! I am going to try something similar for my vegetarian daughter and make the tacos out of sweet potatoes in the crock pot…..

Leave a Reply

