Transitions and Change

Today I learned my childhood home burned down.

Read about it in The Times Reporter.
I was just home a month ago and drove by to reminisce and take a picture:

I reacted strongly to the news. Maybe it was the kitties who were trapped inside. Maybe it hit a little too close to home how impermanent things are. Everything changes. I haven’t lived in that house for 17 years, but when I learned that it burned down last night, it felt like something was taken from me. Maybe I’m just sentimental. This is the house I learned to walk in. I have my first memories in. I celebrated many birthdays, played with my siblings, fought with my siblings. Ate dad’s mickey mouse shaped pancakes and lots of spaghetti. Broke my leg sled riding. Learned how to build golf clubs. Smoked my some of my first cigarettes. Caught my bedroom on fire with a potpourri burner. Graduated high school. So many memories. I’ll always have those.

So, in the mist of my sadness, I made myself a banana mango, oatmeal smoothie this morning and took a picture of it by my childhood cookie jar. Which I found in my mom’s garage sale pile. The same cookie jar which was the only thing I asked my mom to leave me in the will šŸ˜‰ Good thing I rescued it.

I spent the morning transitioning from my Sarasota vacation to my Tampa vacation. I came home, washed 3 loads of laundry, cleaned, payed bills, went to the bank, unpacked, and repacked for the rest of vacation in Tampa.

I met my dad, Vickie and Micah and went to lunch at Crabby Bills at Rocky Point. We got the Boom Boom shrimp appetizer to split:

then I got the early bird blackened Mahi Mahi.

With fries and broccoli. Delicious. That and 2 margaritas, sitting outsider by the water. I was in heaven.
But then it got even better. Dad, Micah, and I decided to go jet skiing:


By this time, all traces of sadness were long gone. Woohoo! I live in Florida, and life is good!!! Winds of change! Blow us to a better place šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

