Vacation Ends, Grocery Budget Game Begins.

This weekend wrapped up the annual Yockey Florida vacation. In the midst of vacationing,I managed to help move two people and buy a car!!! Whoop whoop! 🙂


No more granny mobile for me. Very exciting!
Before I bought my new to me car, I had lunch at Grass Root Organic Restaurant. We got the pad thai (raw and vegan):

And the ginger chick-un:

Both dishes were incredible. Very flavorful. You don’t need to be vegan or even vegetarian to enjoy the food at Grass Roots Organic Restaurant.

Later Saturday evening I met up with my family at Bahama Breeze. I couldn’t believe how busy it was. We had over an hour wait :(. We found a table outside and enjoyed listening to the steel drum player. They have the best jerk shrimp appetizer:

It comes with warm cuban bread to sop up the yummy sauce with. we also got the tomato flatbread:

For dinner, I got the house salad with tropical vinegriatte and my sister split her salmon with me:

Everything was wonderful.

Sunday evening was my family’s last in Florida. So we headed out to Whisky Joe’s to celebrate. The food was great and the sunset beautiful:

For appetizers we got the calamari:

And honey bbq wings:

For dinner I got the blackened fish tacos:

I only ate one. I ave been eating a lot lately. I’m stuffed. Now dad’s back in Ohio. I”ll miss you dad. I’m already looking forward to next summer:

Now it’s back to Monday. I’m actually not dreading vacation being over and getting settled into my routine. There are a lot of changes coming my way and I have a lot to do to get everything prepared. And with getting a new car as one of these changes, I thought it would be fun for me to do a little grocery budget challenge game. For the month of August, I challenge myself to spend $50 per week at the grocery store. This includes all necessities such as toilet paper, shampoo, toothpaste… etc, and cat food and supplies. Here’s what I got today:

-2 bags of butter lettuce
-one bag of spinach
-oatmeal
-coconut water
-milk
-6 cans of kitty food
-kitty treats
-laundry detergent
-rotisserie chicken
-yellow squash
-zucchini
-mushrooms
-3 bananas
-one lemon
-one lime
-cucumber
-one russet potato
-frozen mangoes
-Greek yogurt
-raspberry elegance cake (aka best dessert eva!)

For a grand total of… $50.68. Not bad, not bad!

For dinner, I sliced up that potato and sautéed it with some of the mushrooms in a little olive oil, then added some of the rotisserie chicken, and served it with a side salad of butter lettuce and tomatoes (that I already had on hand):

I just can’t let myself go back to the grocery store this week. That will be the real challenge.

Leave a Reply

