Veggie Taco Salad and Sparkly Eyes!

Most of my meals are a creative combination of ingredients that I have on hand. Most of the time, they turn out pretty good, a small handful are duds, and then there is the rare occasion, that the combination of flavors work magically together to create something truly special. That magic happened tonight, on an unplanned, thrown together veggie taco salad of all things.

I sautéed green peppers, onions, and carrots in a spice mix of cumin, coriander, garlic powder, chili powder, paprika, salt and pepper.

Then I served them on a bed of romaine, chick peas, green olives, ground walnuts, and celery.

For the dressing, I mixed yogurt feta cheese dressing with hot sauce, Then topped it with a dollop of sour cream and crushed up some tortilla chips. This salad had it all, sweet, salty, spicy, crunchy, creamy, umami (whatever that is). I felt like I was a judge on Iron Chef. It was one good creation!

On a completely different subject, I must share a discovery about the green smoothie. It makes my eyes sparkle!

I have noticed that about 15 minutes after I drink a green smoothie, the whites of my eyes get super white and they have a glossy sparkle to them, like a baby’s eyes. At other times, they are not nearly as bright, sometimes red or yellowish, yuck! Drink this smoothie and check out your eyes!

Leave a Reply

