Crock Pot x 2

I cooked up a storm today! I only worked a half day. I skipped breakfast. Bad Emilee!!! And took leftover Chinese to work for lunch:

Then I stopped at the grocery store on my way home. I had two major meals planned for the week that just happened to work perfectly in crock pots. The first is tonight’s dinner: Easy Chicken Taco Salad. This recipe works just as well with tacos, enchiladas, quesadillas, you get the picture.

Ingredients:

-2 chicken breasts
-2 cans Rotel tomatoes (drain most of the liquid)
– one packet of taco seasoning (I used lower sodium)
-one sliced onion
-one sliced red pepper
-one sliced green pepper

Put all ingredients in crock pot and let it do its thang. Mine was ready to shred the chicken after 3 hours on high. I topped a bed of romaine with fresh corn, tomato and avocado, and Mexican cheese.

And I have plenty leftover for about 3 more meals.

Next crock pot dish is a chicken sausage and veggie cassoulet. The ingredients are:

-5 carrots
-baby gold potatoes
-small head of cabbage
– a pound of chicken sausage
– 1/2 cup barley
-can of Great Northern beans
-low sodium V8
– Herbs de Provence

I chopped up the potatoes, carrots, and cabbage and put in crock pot with V8 juice, barley, sausage, beans,about 1 tablespoon Herbs de Provence, and pepper. These crock pot comfort foods get me in the mood for fall.

Is it September yet?

Leave a Reply

