Oats and Rice Casserole and Crockpot Ratatouille

I have never had ratatouille, but I loved the movie! So this dish I cannot claim to be traditional, or even actual ratatouille for that matter, but I can claim that it’s delicious!

As I was rummaging through my fridge, trying to come up with a healthy easy dinner, I pulled out all my veggies and took stock.

I had 1 red pepper, one green pepper, 2 small yellow squash, 1 medium-sized zucchini, and 1 onion. Suddenly, a little mouse under my hat whispered “that looks like the makings of ratatouille” So I chopped everything up and put in a crockpot.

I added a bay leaf, approx. 1 T oregano, approx. 1 T basil, 1 can of diced tomatoes, 2 cloves of minced garlic, and 1 T of organic chicken base. I cooked it on low for six hours.

When I came home from work, I found a tasty concoction with a flavorful, but runny liquid. About 2 T of cornstarch thickened it up nicely. I served my tasty touille with some fresh grouper and an accidental brown rice and Scottish oats casserole.

I planned to make a pot of brown rice, in which I added a little of that organic chicken base. It turned out to be a little too much. My palate has become very sensitive to salt after cutting way back on processed/salty foods.

To remedy, the situation, I added in a bunch of Scottish oats and water and cooked it while stirring for about 7 minutes, risotto style. I then spread the cooked rice/oats mixture into a baking dish, and topped it with a tiny bit of sharp cheddar and parmesan cheese, and baked at 350 until heated through and cheese melted.
<
Last but not least my grouper ($7.00 per pound at Publix :)). All I did was season with a little salt and pepper and grill on the George Foreman.

Awesome, healthy meal!!! I'll need the good wholesome energy for a wedding set up tomorrow. It's going to be a pretty one! Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

