Half Marathon Training Nutrition

When I was in 6th grade, my science teacher Mr. Dawson suggested I join Cross Country when I got to 7th grade. Apparently he saw something in me that I did not in our recess breaks as we had races around the tracks. I did follow his suggestion and signed up for Cross Country, where I found very little enjoyment in the sport. I did not have the confidence to believe I was a good runner. I remember one race very vividly where I had what I now believe was a panick attack, and had a hard time breathing during the race. I was even taken to the doctor and diagnosed as having exercised induced asthma.

Needless to say, my Cross Country career didn’t last long. It wasn’t until about 2 years ago (22 years after my brief running career, that I found the urge to start running again. I started veeeeerrrrry slooooow. I couldn’t even run 30 seconds my first time out. But here I am, 2 years later, training for my first half marathon. How did that happen?!!!!

It took me 2 decades, but I have finally fallen in love with running, and I can see a glimpse of myself that my favorite grade school science teacher saw in me.

I’m 4 days into my training plan and I feel great. I haven’t done any really long runs yet, in fact, the farthest I have ever run is 5 miles. But I’m feeling stronger and more confident every day.

I want to get back to my food journaling so I can see what works best for me for half marathon training. I have read that I should be eating about 60% carbohydrates, 20% protein, and 20% fats. I usually eat much more protein than carbs, so I’m going to try to up the carbs a bit.

It takes something to get back to remembering to take picture of everything I eat. I did good yesterday. For breakfast;

I made an Ezekiel English muffin with peanut butter and jelly. But I only ate half because I didn’t want too much in my belly for my four mile run. It worked, the run was slooow but pretty good.

I refueled with a green smoothie, my favorite:

In the mix:
-half a kiwi, skin on.
-frozen mango
-half a frozen banana
– a few blackberries
-a couple handfuls of spinach
-a handful of kale
-raw oats (about 1/4 cup)
-flax seed oil
-iced tea (any liquid will do, just enough to thin the smoothie)
-nonfat Greek yogurt (about 1/ cup)

This held me over for a few hours. I ended up taking the other half of my English muffin and an apple on the road with me to run some errands and ate them at about 3:00. I haven’t had my usually big appetite this week. Weird!!

Dinner was some yummy Mediterranean food take out from Kurdis in downtown Tampa:

Lentil soup split with sweetie, and a side salad.

And chicken schwarma, which is chicken, pita bread, rice, and grilled veggies with a yummy white garlic sauce. That sauce makes the meal, it is really good.

So far for my training this week:
Monday: 3 miles
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: 4 miles
Thursday: 3 miles

Plan:
Friday: Rest
Saturday: 5 miles
Sunday: Rest

So far so good.

On the wedding front. Things are winding down for the season. We have one wedding this Saturday. One next week (Wednesday) and one the last weekend in December. This season has gone sooo fast! I love my job! But looking forward to some time off in January. Life is good!!!!!

Leave a Reply

