La Sagunda Bakery

I’m on a mission, or gleefully suffering from a guava pastry obsession, but I have decided that I NEED to go to every Cuban bakery I can find. Luckily, I found a great one just 15 minutes from my home, La Segunda Bakery. I went on a search of my beloved guava pastry that I fell in love with in Miami. I found a similar guava turnover that was yummy, but not quite eyes rolling in the back of my head  foodgasmic like my Miami treat. Will anything ever live up to it?  Don’t get me wrong, if I had never experienced that one, this one would have been the shiznit.  It was awesome, go there now!

Their Cuban bread was heavenly. Look at the size of this puppy:
They had all sorts of tempting treats and I’ll definitely be going back to try some more:

I did try some of the scachatta   (a type of pizza served room temperature):

This was yesterday’s adventure.  Then I stocked up at the grocery store and made my boyfriend some homemade chicken noodle soup:

Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

-1 whole chicken

-1 onion

-2 stalks celery

-2 bay leaves

-garlic to taste

-salt and pepper to taste

-(I added a couple sprigs of fresh thyme because I had it)

Put chicken in large stock pot with onion, celery, garlic, bay leaves, thyme, salt and pepper.  Cover with water and cook until chicken is done (mine took about an hour).

When chicken is done, remove and add the following to broth:

-chopped carrots (I only had 2, but would have used 4)

-1 small package mushrooms, sliced (I used shitake)

-chicken boullion (recipe calls for 6 to 10 cubes, I used an organic chicken base, and probably the equivalent of 4 to 5 boullions).

Cook until carrots are tender, then add noodles of choice (I used a Chinese ramen type noodle).  In the meantime, pick the chicken.  Add chicken back to soup (I reserved some for a dish later this week).

Enjoy with some fresh baked Cuban bread if you can:

Delicious, and boyfriend’s feeling much better now 🙂

2 thoughts on “La Sagunda Bakery

Leave a Reply

