10 miles

Today I ran 10 miles (with short walking breaks miles 4-8).  My half marathon training plan has gotten a little screwy and I was hesitant to run this distance for a few reasons.  First, I have been battling some slight pain issues.  My heel has been hurting off and on since I started training.  And recently, right below my left knee has been hurting after runs.  I have been researching some causes and skipped my long run last week and took several rest days the past week.  I think the main culprit has been lack of proper stretching.

Second, I am running a 5 mile race Sunday and have no idea if it wold be okay to run that far 2 days before (probably not ideal,but I felt I needed to get a long run in this week and today was my chance).

So, today I stretched a good long time.  I ran my mile loop in the opposite direction, switching directions along the way (I read the incline of the path can be an issue if you always run the same track, which I had been).  I took it isn’t and took plenty of walk breaks.  After my run, I stretched really good and I took an ice bath with epsom salt.  And guess what?  No pain.  I feel great.

For eats, I started the morning with an Ezekiel English muffin with pb and j.  I made sure I was well hydrated.  I took some sports beans at mile 5, and drank water at almost every mile.  Post run, I refueled with a green smoothie, some whole wheat crackers with melted mozzarella and parmesan cheese and some veggies and yogurt ranch dip:

The run went really good and at mile 9 I thought I could actually do 13.1.  I read that you actually don’t have to run more than 10 miles while training to complete a half marathon, which I hope is true, because I won’t be.  Next week starts tapering, so as of right now, 10 miles is the farthest I have ever run.  That’s a scary thought.  Yikes :0

6 thoughts on “10 miles

  1. Congrats!! That’s so impressive. 10 miles is no joke. You can do anything you set your mind to, and I’m very happy for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

