1st Half Marathon

I did it šŸ™‚ My first half marathon is under my belt.

When I first started running a couple of years ago, I thought I would like to run a half marathon one day, but didn’t think I actually could. 13.1 miles seemed like sooooo far!!! Well, it is! But it’s also incredibly fun and one of the most amazing experiences of my life.

It was soooo cold. Below 40 before take off. The first mile I couldn’t feel my toes, but it flew by. The second mile, my toes were on fire thawing out, but still flew by. In fact, the first 6 miles flew by and I felt amazing, picking up my pace as I went. I shed my gloves at mile 4, my third layer of shirts at mile 6 and breezed through until about mile 8 or 9, when the old knee and hip started to ache. I pushed through keeping my pace up until about mile 12.5, so close to being done and I finally got really winded and my heart started beating really fast. Could have been that GU gel they gave out? It didn’t last too long, I just slowed way down and paced myself until I was pretty close to the finish line where I spotted sweet man and got the burst to push through to a strong finish of 2:07:16. Better than I thought I would do.

Now that it’s said and done several hours later? I have a sneak peak of what it feels like to be 100 years old. My legs hurt, my knees hurt, my hips hurts, and I feel amazing!!! Such an accomplishment. I can’t wait until my next race. Especially because of what I get to eat before and after.

Last night’s dinner was finally found at Macaroni Grill after trying at least 6 different Italian restaurants in Tampa. I tell you, the recession is over here. After getting extremely frustrated (sorry honey) We finally found some pasta. First, I inhaled a giant loaf of bread:

Then, we split the bruschetta:

And spaghetti and meatballs for me:

This morning for breakfast I had an English muffin with peanut butter. Throughout the race, I had sports beans, gatorade, and that GU gel, and a banana immediatly after.

Then it was home to shower and get ready for brunch and refueling at Th Brunchery in Tampa:

Pancakes, sausage, homefries, eggs, and toast. Yum!

Now I’m home relaxing on the couch with a glass of wine. Enjoy some wedding set up pictures from yesterday’s wedding:









3 thoughts on “1st Half Marathon

Leave a Reply

