Embracing Minimalism

I’m in the midst of preparing to move and I have been really getting into the concept of minimalism.  I love the way she puts it over at The Everyday Minimalist (great blog, click and check it out).  She says:

A Minimalist’s Train of Thought

Less money spent means more money saved

More money saved means the longer you can live in financial peace and security

Financial peace and security comes from owning less

Less stuff owned means less to carry around, move or have to travel with

Less responsibility for your stuff also means less maintenance and more time

The more time you have, the more relaxed you will feel

The more relaxed you are, the less you will care about stuff

If you care less about stuff, it means you’ll care less about image

If you care less about image, you will care more about experiences and memories

If you care more about experiences and memories, you will be happier with less

If you are happier with less, you’ll never want or need for more

The less you want or need for more, the more you will feel free

The Everyday Minimalist
I love this concept!!! A few weeks ago, I started my journey of De cluttering and simplifying.  I have been Cleaning Out and moving On. I have been through everything I own at least once, and some things two or three times, analyzing them and my attachments to them and letting go of the past.  Clearing space for a wonderful present and future.  It’s really interesting to sort through the “things” I have acquired and question my attachments to them.

I love the idea of living in a space with only things that are useful, beautiful or truly special to me.  I have shed so much unneccessary clutter these past few weeks and I know I have a lot more work to do.  Another beneficial side of  the idea of minimalism is that I will not purchase “things” as I have in the past.  If I absolutely love something, of course I will, but I will greatly limit new purchases (except for clothes and shoes 😉 ) I still have to work on that area.

Here’s some piles of things I was able to clear from my life this weekend;

Everything but the Boo kitty of course 😉 And I sold my twin beds this weekend, yay!!!

Here’s some ideas of how I imagine my living spaces:

Bedroom

Family Room

Kitchen

Bathroom

Someday I tell ya!!!!

I even got honey aboard the de clutter train (although he’s not quite as enthusiastic about it as I am, he is on board and making good progress 😉 )

We also did plenty of relaxing;

Check out the beautiful view I woke up to Saturday morning:

We also had some good eats.  Friday night Chinese food;

Saturday Subway:

And Mexican today:

My belly is full. My heart is content.  And my spirit is soaring with the possibilities of my future!!!!

Leave a Reply

