Cheesy Sees-ter Date

I had a girl’s date with my sees-ter. Whole Foods in Tampa was hosting a free cheese class.  Since I’m planning a wine and cheese tasting house-warming party in the near future, I thought this would be a great chance to try some new cheeses.

 
We tasted 5 cheeses, 2 red wines, and a sparkling cider which went really well with the cheeses.  I’m a big fan of all wines, but I think I’ll pick up a bottle of sparkling cider for the non alcohol drinkers and even for myself, it paired so well.
We started off our tasting with the Waybridge which I was so excited about, I totally forgot to take a picture. It was creamy like brie or camembert and served with a candied pecan on top.  This was my favorite of the night and will definitely be making an appearance at my party

I really enjoyed all of the cheeses.  My second favorite was the Teahive/Beehive Cheese Co..  The teacher said some have described it as tasting like marijuana. Hmmm, I’m not so sure about that, but it was yummy and left me with a smile on my face, so maybe?

Third fav was the Echo Mountain/ Rogue Creamery.  Served with honey comb.  I’m a fan of blue cheese, and this one packed a nice punch.  The teacher says once a year at the fall equinox, these cows produce a special kind of milk which results in a special cheese called Rogue River Blue.  I will definitely be indulging in that treat this fall.

After our tasting, we picked up some Whole Foods goodies and brought them back to my place for dinner.  On the menu; Rotisserie chicken, a slice of white pizza, split, and a salad. Served with a glass of pinot grigio.

And carrot cake for dessert:

Yummo!!!! I can’t remember the last time my sister and I spent quality time alone together like that.  So much fun!!!

4 thoughts on “Cheesy Sees-ter Date

Leave a Reply

