Low Key Weekend

This past weekend was spent settling into our new place. Friday night I made bbq tofu over sauteed veggies, topped with fresh tomatoes and avocado, sprinkled with queso fresco and drizzled in yogurt ranch dressing with a side of  Melissa D’Arabian’s Potato Cake.  I’m still learning my new stove, so I had the heat a little too high and my potato cake got a little too dark in spots, but it was still tasty.


Saturday morning we slept in. I had a bowl of cereal with bananas and almond milk for breakfast:

We relaxed until early afternoon (It was a rough week).  Then we went to our new gym.  I did some shoulder work with free weights and ran a 5k on the treadmill.  Only a few more weeks until I start training for my second half marathon.  Am I ready for this?

For a late lunch, I made up a fresh veggie platter with crackers and hummus:

Then we ran some errands (Home Depot, grocery store). For dinner, I made some stuffed chicken breasts from The Land and Sea Market. I LOVE this place.  They have a weekly special “Pick six for $26”.  I got a pound of deli turkey breasts, 2 tilapia filets, 2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts, 2 pounds ground chicken, 2 stuffed chicken breasts, and 2 giant bourbon marinated t-bones (that would have been $23 by themselves!)

The stuffed chicken breasts were yummy with some roasted brussel sprouts and oven fries (made from my 10 pound bag of potatoes that I got from Aldi (another store I love) for $1.79)

For my dessert, half of my beloved raspberry elegance cake from Publix:

This is my favorite cake of all time!!!!

Saturday night was low key, relaxing on the couch.

Sunday started with another bowl of cereal, did chores around the new place, getting everything put away and pictures hung. Some pictures:

The view from the loft:

Our view;

Mom came over for a little bit in the afternoon. then we grilled out in the evening.  I’m the grill master 😉

Bourbon steak for her, bbq chicken for him (and her:) )

Served with a baked potato and salad with Rachel Ray’s Roasted Red Pepper Salad Dressing.

It was a productive low key weekend.  I’m gearing up for a busy week, 2 more weekends off, then wedding season kicks off 🙂

8 thoughts on “Low Key Weekend

  1. Too freaky! I go to Land and Sea, too…the one on Gunn. I go on Mondays because they give double points on the rewards card. Their stuffed chicken breasts are great!

Leave a Reply

