Happy Rosh Hashanah

Happy Rosh Hashanah to all my Jewish friends.  We celebrated today with my Googled version of a Rosh Hashanah meal.  Before we get to that though, let me tell you about my weekend.
Saturday I worked to set up our second wedding of the season. It was a neutral palette of creams, tans and rust colors.  It was simple and perfect:

Seating chart that the bride did on her old doors.

Cute candy favors in “red neck’ wine glasses.

This was the appetizer table before the food.

It was a lovely wedding a such a fun bridal party!!!! I bet they had a blast.

I was pretty tired after the set up and took a cat nap, then had Chinese food for dinner and didn’t move from the couch all nigh

This morning, I felt refreshed and I headed outside to start my training for the Florida Holiday Halfathon in December. I signed up shortly after I ran the St Pete Rock and Roll half marathon in February.  That was my second ever race, and first half marathon, and I was still riding the high from it when I signed up for this one.  Good thing too, because I’m not sure I would sign up for one at this point in time.  Running is hard!!! I ran 3 miles outside today and it wasn’t easy.  I have been running on the dreadmill for the past 5 months, but outside seems so much harder.

I was thankful for the cloud cover, but it was still hot and humid. Running is all about playing mind games with yourself.  I kept having to remind myself that I could do this, that I once ran 13.1 miles and loved every minute of it!

When I was finished, I felt amazing!!!! I remembered why I love running so much.

After my run, I came home and did my chores, laundry, cleaning, etc.. Then sweetie and I headed to the mall for my free Godiva!  I’m a Godiva rewards card member and for my birthday, they emailed me a $10 gift certificate.  I scored 8 truffles which included my gift, 2 samples they were handing out, and my monthly free truffle, for only $1.28 out of pocket…Sweet!

Since we were there, and i am in need of a new pair of running shoes, we stopped in Fit 2 run, and I got tested for proper shoes.  I have never done that before and it was interesting to learn about my gait.

First they tested my arch and feet pressure.  I have good high arches, but have much more pressure on my left foot, heals and forefoot.  Then I got to go on the treadmill while they filmed my running in slow motion:

She said most people over-pronate, or under-pronate, but my ankles stay straight upon landing and take off and that is good.  I tried on some shoes and think I found one I like.  For the past few years, I have been wearing Brooks Glycerin 8, but they have been discontinued. But I think I’ll go with the Brooks Glycerin 10, they were very comfortable and just felt right.

For dinner tonight, we celebrated with a Rosh Hashanah meal.  On the menu:  Apples dipped in honey, Honey Mustard Chicken, Carrot Tzimmes, and savory kugel.

For the honey mustard chicken I used this recipe: Honey Mustard Chicken

For the carrot tzimmes I used this recipe: Carrot Tzimmes. But I used chicken broth instead of water, and added some figs.

For the kugel, I modified this recipe: Savory Kugel.

I only used 2 eggs as well as fat-free sour cream.  I added 1/2 cup fat-free cottage cheese, 1/2 cup caramelized onions, 1 /2 pack Lipton onion soup mix, and a teaspoon paprika.  It turned out delicious.  I’ll repeat next year.

Now I’m off to relax and enjoy my evening.  Good night all!

2 thoughts on “Happy Rosh Hashanah

Leave a Reply

