General Tso’s Spaghetti and Asian Meatballs

My boyfriend LOVES Chinese food.  He could eat it every single day! Besides candy, it is his favorite food 😉  So, when he requested General Tso’s chicken for dinner, I wanted to oblige.  But, I really needed to use up the ground turkey breast that has been thawing in the fridge for the past 2 days.

My wheels started churning, and I decided to invent  General Tso’s Spaghetti and Asian meatballs.

For the Asian meatballs:

-1 pound ground turkey breast

-2 teaspoons minced ginger

-1 clove minced garlic

-3 sliced scallions

-1 T oyster sauce

-1 T low sodium soy sauce

-1 egg

-1/4 cup panko bread crumbs

*All measurements are approximate, I just eyeball when cooking.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Prepare large baking sheet with aluminum foil and canola oil (about 2 T, spread out) Mix all ingredients and roll into 1 inch balls.  Cook until bottoms brown (approx 12 minutes).  Take out of oven and flip, they should be brown enough that they lift easily and don’t rip, cook on side 2 until done (about 6 more minutes).  Remove from oven and toss in a bowl with General Tso’s sauce.  I got mine at Trader Joe’s and used about 1/4 cup.

Side note:  This is the best invention EVER!

Minced ginger, frozen into little 1 teaspoon size cubes.  I despise peeling and mincing ginger, so for $2.69 at Whole Foods, this was totally worth it!

For the stir fry, I simply sauteed a mix of veggies in some canola oil on high heat for a few minutes.  I used bean sprouts, snow peas, shitake mushrooms, red, yellow, and orange peppers, carrots, celery, and scallions. Then added more General Tso’s sauce and the meatballs. Served over Chinese noodles.

It was boyfriend approved!  With plenty of leftovers for our lunches tomorrow.

Today was my 3rd run of my official half marathon training, and it was still sooo hard.  Only 3 miles, but 3 hot miles in the Florida sunshine.  I’m so envious of all of you that are experiencing fall weather.  I can’t wait until it cools down for my runs. In the meantime, I tell myself that I’m torturing myself into getting motivated to get up and out the door much earlier.

On the work front, I’ve been busy getting back into the swing of things for wedding season.  Only one wedding this weekend. It’s going to be stunning!  Today was my day off.  I’m lucky to get one day off a week during wedding season, so this week with Sunday off too, you know I’ll be savoring it.

Also if you could swing by quick and vote for Rhowasa again I would love it.  She’s currently in 3rd place and has a long way togo.  Please help 🙂 Here’s an easier link in case the other one has been giving you troubles:  Vote for Rhowasa here.

Leave a Reply

