Thanksgiving and Babies 3rd Birthday Party

3 days have passed since Thanksgiving and I think I’m starting to come out of my food coma. We celebrated our blessings this year at my sister’s house.  I was in charge of the pumpkin pie, Grandma’s stuffed celery, stuffing, and green bean casserole. I had Wednesday off and I spent the day doing laundry, running errands, and cooking.  A perfect day in my book.

As I stood in my kitchen prepping and chopping walnuts for my Grandma’s stuffed celery, I couldn’t help but think of how many times, she must have done the exact same, and how time flies.  It made me appreciate the present, which is something I aim to do everyday.

Everything was delicious and I couldn’t ask for a better day, surrounded by those I love, ferociously hungry after my best 9 mile run ever. At one point in my run, I found myself simultaneously wishing for the run to fly by, but the next 4 days off to go really slow.  That point made me stop and appreciate the present again. I was able to enjoy the run at that moment.  Don’t wish any of it away!

Friday was a day of relaxation, laziness, Christmas decorating, and recovery.  I volunteered to take the turkey carcass home with me with plans to make post Thanksgiving turkey soup.

I picked the rest of the turkey off the bones, then put the poor bird’s remains in the stock pot with carrots, onions, celery, garlic powder, bay leaves,thyme, salt and pepper, and cooked for about 2 hours.  Then I strained it, added the turkey meat, leftover noodles, and the cut up veggies from the broth, and voila..Turkey Carcass Soup! FYI, don’t call it turkey carcass soup like I did, that didn’t go over too well 🙂

We also put up the Christmas tree:

Saturday was my niece and nephew’s 3rd birthday party at Happy Trails Farm.

Lori, who I work with owns this adorable little farm with her husband Javier, which was the perfect backdrop for a kid’s birthday party.  We fed the animals and rode the mini horse drawn carriage.

After the party, we went to Cappy’s for the best pizza in tampa:

Today (Sunday), was a fun day. Slept waaaaaaay in, went to brunch at The Brunchery:

Then went to the mall and looked at sparkly things 🙂  🙂  🙂

Life is good.  Back to work tomorrow and that’s even good.  Nitey night.

One thought on “Thanksgiving and Babies 3rd Birthday Party

Leave a Reply

