2nd Half Marathon

I survived my 2nd half marathon! Yesterday I ran the Florida Holiday Halfathon and while I did manage to make it across the finish line, it was much harder than my 1st half in February.

014

I did everything right.  Training went very well. I carb loaded for 2 days before.  I drank tons of water for 2 days before.  I got a good night’s sleep, woke up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, had an english muffin for breakfast and was feeling great:

002

Then before the race, things started going wrong.  I lost my headphones, luckily Matt had a pair in the car, but they are a little too big for my ears and slipped the entire run.  I had a few potty emergencies before hand :0 And the main thing I think was the weather. It was around 67 at the start of the race with 100% humidity.  I run much better in the cooler temps, and I felt like I was trying to breath under water with all that humidity.

009

The run was tough. I was slower than my last race, and I was so so happy when I finished.

012

Celebratory Beer 🙂

Although it was tough, I’m still looking forward to my next one.  There is just something so fulfilling about training so hard, crossing that finish line and getting that medal.  I’m addicted.

Thursday night, I started my carb loading at Toojay’s after we picked up my race packet at Fit 2 Run.  The waiter brought us out a big basket of bread:

003

We ordered a potato knish:

IMG_20121206_194933

And I got the brisket sliders which were out of this world amazing, can’t stop thinking about them:

IMG_20121206_195743

The carb loading continued Friday night. I made pasta with a Mexican twist:

005

It’s basically chicken, peppers, onions, and black beans, cooked and seasoned with chili powder and cayenne pepper, in a sauce of light sour cream mixed with salsa. It used ditalini pasta and baked it casserole style to melt the low-fat Mexican cheese. Sprinkled with scallions and devoured. Yum!

Saturday I had 2 weddings to set up at Cross Creek Ranch.  One at the stable:

006 007 009 010 011 012 013 014 034 035

And one at the French Country Inn:

019 020 021 022 023 024 033 037 039 040

I love this ring bearer book. What a find, it matched her wedding colors perfectly, and look at the title…Cross Creek!

038

Saturday night we went out to eat at Rigatoni’s in Tampa for, you guessed it, more carbs. garlic knots, ceaser salad, and spaghetti and meatballs:

042

041

043

Saturday night we lit the Hanukkah candles. This was my first experience. I love that we are both open to learning and experiencing each other’s religious backgrounds.

044

Honey did a great job 🙂 And today is his birthday. Happy Birthday Sweet Man. I love you!!!!!!!

4 thoughts on “2nd Half Marathon

  1. I have sooooo many replies to this post but I’m lazy and sleepy so I’ll leave you with my piggy reply. I seriously love the TooJays beef brisket dip/sliders! That is all 😉

  2. Congratulations, Emilee! As a former runner and marathoner, I know how hard it is to breathe while running during humid weather. What I did for years was to force myself to yawn. It works so well! And, no, it does not make you feel sleepy at all. It just rushes in a bunch of well-needed oxygen into your lungs. I was so surprised to see that Apolo Ohno did the same thing at The Olympics! Tell me if that helps you!

Leave a Reply

