My First Passover

It was a busy whirlwind weekend that started with 3 weddings and ended with a short getaway to Naples to celebrate Passover. I started stressed and ended up Tuesday morning feeling relaxed and renewed.

Let’s start with Friday’s Rock and Roll wedding. Both the sweet bride and the sweet groom are in a band. I especially loved their drum we used for the big arrangement:

005

We incorporated old books, wood pieces and doilies with band name table markers and fresh flowers:

007 008

Their favors were “chicken salt”. The groom is from Australia and the bride’s first time there she fell in love with this popular seasoning used on french fries. I loved all the personal touches!

004 006 009

Friday evening I had planned a healthy home cooked dinner, but the craving for hot and sour soup was too strong. So Chinese take out it was.

Saturday’s wedding was a stunner:

031 013 012 014 015 016 017 018 019 020 022

The groom’s comic books were a great addition to the centerpieces, as well as the cute tags the bride made.

023

I loved the guest book so much that I had to participate, and I might have to steal this idea for my own wedding πŸ˜‰

026 027

Alessi’s supplied the cupcakes and the mother of the groom made the cake:

029 028

Saturday night I was exhausted, so dinner was more take out. I didn’t mind though because Pita Republic is one of my faves. I got the gyro with a side Greek salad, and an extra salad for lunch the next day. I’m always planning for the next meal. If I’m making dinner, I always make enough for Matt and I to have lunch the next day.

032 033

Sunday’s wedding was especially difficult to set up with the strong winds.But it turned out beautiful with fresh flowers and touches of peacock feathers:

IMG_0381 IMG_0380 IMG_0379 IMG_0378 IMG_0377 IMG_0374 IMG_0373

After the set up, we headed to Naples for Passover with Matt’s dad and step mom.

On the way there we stopped at a restaurant in Sarasota called Madfish. I ordered the lobster bisque and blackened salmon:

002 004

We got there late Sunday night and chatted for a while, then I passed out and slept like a baby. We woke up early and went to breakfast at the Patio Cafe. I kick myself for forgetting to take a picture.

After breakfast, I had the pleasure of learning and helping Hilda cook some dishes for the Passover meal. We made matzoh ball soup (oh yum), a spinach lasagna with layers of matzoh and a yummy cheesy spinach filling, and matzoh meal crusted fish. I also helped prepare some of the ceremony foods, the horseradish and parsley, and a hard-boiled egg in salt water, which I read is ” a symbol of life and the perpetuation of existence” (I love that).

Then I went to the driving range with dad and Matt and we hit some balls. This is my swing:

015 016 017

And look at these cute guys:

014

After practice, we stopped at World Market where I fell in love with that place! Then we had a little bite for lunch at Mel’s Diner. I ordered a side salad and had 1/4 of honey’s salmon blt.

020 019

Then we went back to finish the preparations for the Passover feast.

The guests brought some dishes as well. There was charoses, a sweet dish that contains apples and honey and I’m not such what else, but it was good. There was brisket that melted in my mouth (both servings), a veggie tray and potatoes. I was surprised at how much I liked gefilte fish. It was served with red horseradish and I found myself wanting more. Dessert was chocolate covered matzoh and chocolate covered nuts, as well as little jelly candy fruits, candied nuts, and a bowl of fresh fruits. I was unsure about picture-taking, so I only snapped some shots of the food prep and the table set up, and then of the desserts after several glasses of ceremonial wine πŸ™‚

011 010 009 008 006 022 IMG_0222 IMG_0221 IMG_0223

I was extremely moved by the ceremony. At one point I got goosebumps when we opened the door for the spirit of Elijah to come in. I felt blessed to be welcomed in to my new family with love, acceptance, and open arms. I’m a lucky girl:)

I did a lot of great eating this weekend, but am happy to report that I’m back on the health wagon this week. Lots of vegetables this week πŸ™‚

In other fun news. I had submitted my picture for the Alicia Keys project of videos of various cities and my photo was used. Check it out and see if you can spot me (Hint, the picture was taken after my last half marathon):

5 thoughts on “My First Passover

  1. Congrats on your first Passover! It is very moving to celebrate the exodus of Jews from slavery, and a celebration of freedom. What is amazing, is to realize that, all over the world, Jews are going thru the same Seder rituals. What unity each year and down through thousands of years! I love the very last sentence of every Seder…”Next year in Jerusalem!”. It gives me goosebumps to think about us all there.

    Also, each family has their own favorite recipes and these get passed down (and across) to each new generation, with some changes and additions. I love the meanings and customs and representations of each symbolic food on the Seder plate. The successive glasses of wine help too!

    Love and kisses,
    Bonnie

Leave a Reply

