3rd Memorial Day With Hubby to Be

So happy, so relaxed! Just got back from a night in Naples. It’s amazing how a one night getaway can renew me! Before I recap our trip, let me go back to another relaxing day last week. Wednesday, I spent the day and night at my mom and sister’s house. We relaxed, swam in the pool and watched a movie. So much fun with my monkeys!

002 006 013 024

I worked Thursday, wedding set ups on Friday and Saturday, and was off Sunday (missed my sweet couple’s wedding set up 😦

Friday’s wedding:

025 026 027 028 029 030 031 032 033 034 035 036 037

Friday night I made veggie sloppy joes:

038

Hubby to be raved about these so I’m going to attempt writing how I made them so I can remember and make them again. So here goes:

I started by making brown rice and red lentils. I added more water to the rice, cooked for 25 minutes, then added the lentils and cooked for 25 more minutes. This mixture I combined with chickpeas that chopped in the food processor for the “meat ” part of the joes. I started the joes by sauteing onions, green peppers, and celery in olive oil. Then I added the veggie ‘meat” and lots of random things from the fridge and pantry. A dash of everything: ketchup, mustard, Heinz 57 steak sauce, worscheshire sauce, liquid smoke, tomato paste, pizza sauce, tomato sauce, chili powder, paprika, brown sugar, white wine vinegar, salt and pepper. Sounds totally weird, but it came together as a great combo of flavors! Served with sautéed veggies and oven baked fries.

Saturday’s wedding:

061 060 059 058 057 056 055 054 053 052 050 049 048 047 046 045 044 043 042 041 040 039

Saturday night we got personal size pizza from The Gourmet Pizza Company. I got the steak and gorgonzola pizza, yum:

062

I had such mixed feelings about not doing the Sunday wedding set up. The bride and groom were so sweet and I really loved working with them. It was sad not to see them on their wedding day. However, I know I can’t work every wedding set up anymore, and I really enjoyed the day with my sweetie. But I couldn’t help thinking about the set up all day. But I did refrain from texting my team leader. I totally trust my team, I know I’m not needed at the set ups, but it’s still hard to let go.

So, my Sunday morning started out early with a 3 mile run outside. Perfect weather!!! I did squeak in a load of laundry and a couple of other chores before we left for Naples, so i wouldn’t have a mess to come back to (that’s never fun). We left  late morning and took our time getting there. We stopped for lunch in Punta Gorda and ended up at a great little place called Harpoon Harry’s at The Fisherman’s Village, which was a quaint little village of shops and restaurants. It was quite the find. We had lunch on the water with a great view and perfect weather!

066

063

We split some calamari, and I ordered the blackened group sandwich and pinot grigio. Yummy food, 82 degrees and no humidity, Glorious!

064 065

From Punta Gorda, we took 41 down to Naples. It was a scenic view and we had a great time not hurrying, just enjoying the drive and each other. It was the longest stretch of road full of businesses with no Starbucks!

We finally found a Starbucks when we got to Bonita Springs, so we enjoyed a coffee, then stopped in World Market, (my new favorite). Then we settled into my soon to be in-laws 🙂 I took a wonderful nap. Then we ventured out to Whole Foods. Oh my, this Whole Foods is amazing!! So much bigger than my Whole Foods. They had a juice bar, bbq bar, soup station, pizza station, sandwich station, hot foods, and salad bar, coffee bar, sushi station, and more! I was in love! We got a light bite to eat at the salad bar:

067

Asian tofu and noodles, tabouli, and lentil kale salad. Perfect!

Sunday morning, I woke up bright-eyed and bushy-tailed at 8:30. I accidentally left my Ipad at work, which turned out to be a blessing. It was a much-needed break from the computer. I spent an hour and a half reading a Barcelona travel book. Getting excited for honeymoon!!!

When honey got up, we went to the pool for a swim and some relaxation:

075 078 076

Met some birds on the walk there:

071 072

Our leisurely morning was exactly what I needed. I spent some time just sitting and looking around. That is sooo rare for me! I’m always on the go, or doing something. I practiced the art of doing nothing.

We showered and headed out for lunch in the afternoon. We ended up at Coconut Jack’s on Bonita Beach. Great ambience on the water under a tiki hut. We split the wings and I ordered a salad with scallops:

079 080 082

Lunch was fantastic, and even the rain storm was perfect!

084

After we had our fill, we headed home. I took a nap in the car (slept most of the way actually), and we stopped at Whole Foods in Tampa for another healthy, light dinner. For $6.99 you can get a type of bento box with their “Health Starts Here” foods. What that is, is a selection of deli, salad bar, or hot foods bar that is designated with the purple “Health Starts Here” label. They are foods made without added oils, or other junk. And what I packed in my box would have easily been double the cost for there regular per pound price. score!

085

Now I’m home, relaxing on the couch with my honey:

086

I feel like this weekend kicked off summer. I still have 3 wedding set ups to go until my official summer, but I have some easy weeks with only one wedding per week, so in my head, I’m already in summer mode. It’s going to be the best one ever!!!!

One thought on “3rd Memorial Day With Hubby to Be

Leave a Reply

